1. rush2802

    OP rush2802 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Venezuela
    I've found a problem trying to run Kirby Adventure Wii (the PAL version of Kirby's Return to Dreamland) using CFG USB Loader v70, strangely, it worked before but now hangs (black screen) after selecting a save file, and it's the same ISO i used the 1st time around (i keep a backup in my PC), i'm trying to load through SD, i don't know if it makes a difference.

    Anyway, here's my sysCheck report:

    sysCheck v2.1.0b18 by Double_A and R2-D2199
    ...runs on IOS58 (rev 6176).

    Region: NTSC-U
    System Menu 4.3U (v513)
    Priiloader installed
    Drive date: 2009.11.21
    Homebrew Channel 1.1.0 running on IOS58
    Hollywood v0x21
    Console ID : XXXXX0025
    Boot2 v4
    Found 146 titles.
    Found 50 IOS on this console. 5 of them are stub.

    IOS3 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS4 (rev 65280): Stub
    IOS9 (rev 1034): No Patches
    IOS10 (rev 768): Stub
    IOS11 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS12 (rev 526): No Patches
    IOS13 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS14 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS15 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS16 (rev 512): Stub
    IOS17 (rev 1032): No Patches
    IOS20 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS21 (rev 1039): No Patches
    IOS22 (rev 1294): No Patches
    IOS28 (rev 1807): No Patches
    IOS30 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS31 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS33 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS34 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS35 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS36 (rev 3608): No Patches
    IOS37 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS38 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS40 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS41 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS43 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS45 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS46 (rev 3607): No Patches
    IOS48 (rev 4124): No Patches
    IOS50 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS51 (rev 4864): Stub
    IOS52 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS53 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS55 (rev 5663): No Patches
    IOS56 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS57 (rev 5919): No Patches
    IOS58 (rev 6176): USB 2.0
    IOS60 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS61 (rev 5662): No Patches
    IOS62 (rev 6430): No Patches
    IOS70 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS80 (rev 16174): Trucha Bug, NAND Access
    IOS202[60] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS222[38] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS223[38+37] (rev 4, Info: hermes-v4): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS224[57] (rev 65535, Info: hermesrodries-v6): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS236[36] (rev 65535, Info: rev 3351): Trucha Bug, ES Identify, NAND Access
    IOS249[56] (rev 21007, Info: d2x-v7final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS250[57] (rev 21008, Info: d2x-v8final): Trucha Bug, NAND Access, USB 2.0
    IOS254 (rev 65281): BootMii
    BC v6
    MIOS v10

    Report generated on 2012/11/13.

    I updated everything a few days ago using ModMii... i hope anyone can help me, i want to replay that game :/

    You may notice i have installed IOS249 d2x v7 Final, i installed that today believing that downgrading that particular IOS would help me, i was wrong.
     
  2. TyBlood13

    TyBlood13 As Seen On GBATempTV
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1,524
    Country:
    United States
    Umm...it is called USB loader, try that, but USB Loader GX has better SD support
     
  3. rush2802

    OP rush2802 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Is it possible por a particular game to NOT work when played from an SD card?
     
  4. pBullet

    pBullet SHSL Idol
    Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2012
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    United States
    No, not really. Generally USB drives are formatted as NTFS as you don't need to split the games, or in WBFS so you don't need to do anything really. SD is generally in FAT32 with 32 bit clusters so it shouldn't impede the loading of the game.

    Return to Dreamland, if I remember right, has some weirdo anti-piracy measures added into it and it spazzes out at random moments. Try using IOS250 instead on the game load, or try using Hermes IOS222 instead.

    However mini-games do tend to freeze anyways
     
  5. DarkMatterCore

    DarkMatterCore I like turtles.
    Developer

    Joined:
    May 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,106
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Try using this (props to dcx2 @ GeckoCodes.org). Just save the file as "gameconfig.txt" (without quotes) on the root of your SD Card, and load the game as you would normally do.

    This will hopefully disable the MetaFortress protection the game has.
     
  6. rush2802

    OP rush2802 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Well, none of the 2 above solutions worked... i'm puzzled because i've played it before with no problems at all and now it hangs :/
     
  7. rush2802

    OP rush2802 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Venezuela
    Well, i found a solution... The game refuses to load any cinematics when played from the Wii's SD slot (That's the reason why it hanged after the file selection screen, since the file was marked as New it had to show the first cinematic...), it works fine when played through USB. I used two SD cards with an USB card reader, one formatted to WBFS and one formatted to FAT32 just to be on the safe side and both worked using even the most basic options (I had to set Video to System Default because the game is a PAL version and that's it)

    I hope this info helps everybody who has trouble with this game
     
  8. eder.oliveira

    eder.oliveira Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil
    hi, I'm having problems with this game too, it worked before, but I think that my case is specific, first, when it worked, I don't remember well, because it was so many months ago, I think I was running cfg loader via sd card and the game in WBFS partition, with cIOS d2x v6 in IOS 249, then, now I'm running cfg loader from the fat32 partition of my HD (all other games still works), or run via WiiFlow on sd card fat32 with d2x v6 or d2x v9 from partition WBFS on HD and the game doesn't work, it past the intro and freezes in the black screen, I noted that the iso has 4.something and when I transfer it to the WBFS partition using WBFS manager it gets 1.3 in space, can it be the problem? any help?
     
  9. _acid_

    _acid_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Canada
    perhaps first you should show us a syscheck so we know can exactly what IOS's you have

    and about the size of the .iso and the size that WBFS manager shows, the manager shows the actual game size. all wii iso's are around 4 gigs, they are not the actual gamesize
     
  10. eder.oliveira

    eder.oliveira Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil

    I partially found the root of this random problem that affect a high number of people, I tested the game with 4 HD, mine's, my brother's, a copy of mine and of a friend of mine, and it worked on the HD from my friend and from my brother on my wii, and mine's and the copy of my HD doesn't work on the wii of my brother and of my friend, then I thought it must be a incompatibility with some game that I have on my HD, I formated My HD and just added the kirby game, and it worked, now i compared the games that I have different of the HD of my friend, and then I adding one by one to see if one of them is causing the Kirby game to crash, any news I'll update you guys.
     
    _acid_ likes this.
  11. eder.oliveira

    eder.oliveira Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Brazil

    Hey, long time no see, Just updating, i discovered that some games can run on a hd, and some notm, this was this case, the same game played on other hd, my hd wasn't playing kirby first, then it stopped playing my other games, now my wii can't read anything from it, I changed the hd and put the same games on it and now work
     
  12. _acid_

    _acid_ GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Country:
    Canada
    so everything is fixed? great :)
     
  13. Alex4nder001

    Alex4nder001 Part-time thug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well im using usbloadergx v.30 rev1269 on a PAL wii U. It loads fine until the game says “Hold the wiimote sideways”. When I press 2 the game hangs on a white screen, although I can still exit to the home menu. Im using the PAL version of Kirby’s adventure wii.
    Umm I followed wiiu.guide/vwii-modding to hack and I installed the cios’s the guide told me to. What should I do?
     
    Last edited by Alex4nder001, Oct 29, 2017
  14. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2015
    Messages:
    5,401
    Country:
    United States
    This thread is 3 years old, but...

    The latest USB Loader GX is r1262. If yours truly says r1269 it's probably an interim build of my fork rather than the official loader.

    Check your game disc's SHA with Wii Backup Manager and make sure the game partition is valid.

    Also, I'm not sure about Kirby's Adventure but Return to Dreamland had Metafortress protection on it. Try running the game with NO patches or cheats.
     
  15. Alex4nder001

    Alex4nder001 Part-time thug
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [QUOTE="GreyWolf, post: 7659459, member: 362215”]Check your game disc's SHA with Wii Backup Manager and make sure the game partition is valid.

    Also, I'm not sure about Kirby's Adventure but Return to Dreamland had Metafortress protection on it. Try running the game with NO patches or cheats.[/QUOTE]
    I verified the disc and it says its fine. I have no cheats or patches, and I tried running the game under ios 250 and 249. With ios 250 it doesnt launch at all but with 249 I get the same problem as before.
     
    Last edited by Alex4nder001, Oct 29, 2017
  16. DeadOneWalking

    DeadOneWalking Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry, I have to do this. Anyone open that text file, there is a lot of poking going on in there!
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Adventure, working, Kirby