just got a laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by AbyssalTears, Oct 26, 2008.

Oct 26, 2008

just got a laptop by AbyssalTears at 10:48 PM (720 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. AbyssalTears
    OP

    Newcomer AbyssalTears Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    Just got a laptop and was wondering how i could connect to the internet?I have a desktop pc with wired connection
     
  2. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,716
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Many options are available. I am going to assume you are running windows XP (it is not overly different for vista or 2000)

    Best way.

    Connect via your router (the little box that goes to the phone line). As I have no make/model for either the router or the laptop I can not say about wireless, I would be surprised though if there was not a wired option.
    Wireless can be set up with ease, not knowing your software specific instructions are going to have to wait. Usually you go to wireless setup options, find your network (if you have one with a hidden SSID then you will have to type it, if it is not hidden just hit search and it should appear). Now hit connect to network, if you have encrypted* it you will either have to give a password now or cancel it and enter one).

    *there are several forms of wireless encryption, the DS only supports the relative weak WEP standard but given the large amount of unencrypted networks available I would not worry.
    Other protection methods include low power broadcast (useless and will ultimately just frustrate you), hidden SSID (not that effective and not really worth the time) and mac filtering (I can change my mac address in about 20 seconds if I am slow, not really worth it).

    Next best way.
    Bridged connections/Connection sharing.
    Connection sharing is simpler (Windows should automatically do it), all you should have to do is connect your laptop

    bridged connections require you to go to network connections, select two you want to use, right click and select bridge. Will effectively lose two connections for you but it appears as though the laptop is the PC. Not so useful unless you have many networks you do not want talking to each other.
     
  3. AbyssalTears
    OP

    Newcomer AbyssalTears Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    K thanks a lot ill try it
     

Share This Page