Jumbled error message from Backup Launcher

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Konstar, Nov 20, 2008.

Nov 20, 2008
  1. Konstar
    OP

    Newcomer Konstar Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    I just recently followed a guide from instructables and I got everything to work. I'm not sure how accurate the guide was, but I didn't get any errors. That was before I found out this site. The first game I got was Resident Evil: Umbrella Chronicles. After I burned it and try running it, I get this message below the language. The only word I can make out from it is DVD. It looks like two messages combined. I've read through this board and I think it could be a DVD read error, but I'm not fully sure. I just want to know if it was a problem during the installation or a problem with the DVD? If it is the DVD, what exactly is the rule of thumb for burning? I've been seeing a lot of debate on that.

    My Wii's running 3.1U and Backup Launcher 0.3b. Oh and the author of that guide updated it so those aren't exactly the steps I followed.
     
  2. acesniper

    Member acesniper GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    641
    Country:
    United States
    the cios was not installed correctly. reinstalling it should work. beta is old, use gamma for better speeds and compatibly.
     
  3. w_n_s

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was getting this error with games that didn't work with 0.3beta. 0.3gamma sorted those games out.

    Check out the compatibility list here:

    http://wiki.gbatemp.net/wiki/index.php/Backup_Launcher_v3#A

    Personally, if I were you, i'd go to Gamma and follow the full guide posted here:

    http://www.iol.ie/~taz/WiiHowToGamma.html
     
  4. FRanatic

    Member FRanatic GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I've had similar errors aswell on BL 0.3b.
    Both errors are hardly readable.
    I've seen an error wich started with 'set'. This error refers to the cIOS not being properly installed.
    The other erro I've experienced started with 'dvd'. This error, for me, didn't occur anymore when I burned my games onto Verbatim DVD-R (instead of Arita DVD+R).

    Hope that clarifies the situation a little bit.
     
  5. Beatchu

    Member Beatchu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2008
    Messages:
    347
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It probably says "GETGAMMA" lol
     
  6. w_n_s

    Newcomer w_n_s Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    81
    Location:
    Belfast
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Just to add to that sorry - I made a mistake - I got a disc read error with the non-working games in 0.3 beta.

    The error you speak of (doubled up lines), I got when I used DVD+R's .

    I switched to some DVD-R's and was able to boot up my backups on 0.3 Beta just fine using the same ISO's that were giving me the jumbled message on the DVD+R's.
     
  7. Konstar
    OP

    Newcomer Konstar Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for those helpful replies! A few questions though. When I reinstall the cIOS, do I need to remove the old one first? If I do, will removing the cIOS cause any conflicts with already installed apps? And what is the ideal burn speed for a game? I've seen many different views on this. Its either 3x or max speed, which one is it?
     
  8. air2004

    Member air2004 Air

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,514
    Location:
    Anytown
    Country:
    United States
    always burn at max ... after all if the game doesn't work burning it at max , it won't work burning it at 4x
     

Share This Page