Issues with Skyward Sword In USB loader CFB

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by kyomagi, Nov 16, 2011.

Nov 16, 2011
  1. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a fix or a better usb loader that will run skyward sword with better graphics? i get these weird lines and absolute terrible graphics. I do have a 1080p tv and using the standard def av cables. But this is just insane..

    fyi im using version 65 (ithink) and 249

    thanks
     


  2. Pete666

    Member Pete666 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    Canada
    by component cables..
     
  3. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    thats what i was thinking. Would that really do it?
     
  4. Lucif3r

    Member Lucif3r GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    Messages:
    1,464
    Country:
    Sweden
    It will be better. But if you expect HD graphic youre on the wrong console. The Wii can only put out 480p, which then gets upscaled by your TV to 1080p, which naturally results in "bad graphic".
     
  5. demonicstrife

    Member demonicstrife *INSERTGENERICTITLE*

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    769
    Location:
    Somewhere in the middle
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, depending how good his TV is at upscaling lower progressive signals, it could still look great.

    But anyway, component will give you a MUCH clearer picture in general. It's got 3 separate video cables for the overall video signal, and your TV processes them all at once for the image to appear. Composite's got that single yellow cable for video, which mixes all those signals together and makes the image muddy and horrible to look at on an HDTV.

    And as Lucif3r said, the max resolution the Wii can output is 480p, so expect jaggies everywhere.
     
  6. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,854
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    The 'weird lines' are intentional, it is an effect carried over from Wind Waker and part of what makes the painterly filer possible. In can be seen heavily in WW in places with many effects going such as the windy parts of Dragon Roost Isle.
     
  7. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    is there a way to show the wii in native 480i and tell the tv not to up scale?
     
  8. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    You want to have over 80% of your screen in black? And also do you want flickering black horizontal lines in the image?

    This wouldn't be so bad if tv manufactures wouldn't save money in the wrong places. We have HDTV for years now, but there's still lots of content that's not HD, but almost no tv has a good integrated upscaler.
     
  9. TerraPhantm

    Member TerraPhantm GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    275
    Country:
    United States
    Only if your TV has a 1:1 mode
     
  10. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    its weird, my tv gives me info about whats running on that certain connection. LIke my monitor, it says 1920 x 1080, my ps3 1080p 60hz and my wii it says 480i 60hz un rated.
     
  11. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    Whats weird about that? The wii can only do 576i@50, 480i@60 and 480p@60; selectable via sysmenu settings.
     
  12. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks for that info, where in the wii menu can i change that. and if i get the better cables and change it to say 576i, should receive better graphics? or should i stick to 480p?

    Also, i have seen wii to hdmi dongles, do those even work?
     
  13. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,408
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    576i is only for PAL (EU/Australia) region Wii consoles, but since you live in the US (like me) you're limited to 480i/p. The HDMI cables they make for the Wii are bull crap; the Wii is not an HD console (Enhanced Definition only) so they're only good if you want to hook it up to a PC monitor. The only way to play Wii games in HD is to get the emulator Dolphin and play it on your PC, provided your PC meets the recommended requirements to play a gamecube/wii emulator.
     
  14. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    I have dolphin, the graphics for zelda are good, but the distance and water color graphics are bad. Plus i found an interesting article on this issue as a whole.

    If i get the component cables, set the wii to 480p, the tv will not scale up to 1080p, the tv itself will adjust to the lower resolution giving the wii a good picture.

     
  15. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,408
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    As was said previously, the Wii cannot and will not upscale to 1080p; the max resolution is 480p/576i, depending on the region. There is no way around this save using an emulator.
     
  16. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    With a powerful enough processor you can make it look a little better on Dolphin, but that's it.
     
  17. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    OK problems still. better cables (nyko) same graphical issues. ZERO improvment
     
  18. JoostinOnline

    Member JoostinOnline Certified Crash Test Dummy

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    10,835
    Location:
    The Twilight Zone
    Country:
    United States
    That's probably because you got nyko cables. Third party cables suck.
     
  19. kyomagi
    OP

    Member kyomagi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United States
    but to show no improvement? same thing on my 720p tv
     
  20. the_randomizer

    Member the_randomizer The Temp's official fox whisperer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    17,408
    Location:
    Unknown
    Country:
    United States
    The 3rd party cables I use work just fine.
     

Share This Page