Issues when playing Crysis

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by thilixD, Mar 1, 2011.

Mar 1, 2011

Issues when playing Crysis by thilixD at 3:53 PM (653 Views / 0 Likes) 9 replies

  1. thilixD
    OP

    Newcomer thilixD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I have recently reformed my PC, now, my video card is a Radeon HD6870, the processor is an Atlhon x4 640 (3GHz), and 4GB of DDR3 RAM.

    I haven't been having any issues when playing most of the games, but when i started Crysis, the game just runs very bad, even in the lowest configurations, the game has frequent slowdows, and it has already crashed my OS twice (had to reboot)

    I've already updated my video card drivers but the problem still persists!

    Is it a processor or RAM problem?

    (my motherboard is a ASUS m4a88t-v evo


    Thanks!!! [​IMG]
     
  2. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Crashed how?

    Updated your drivers how?
     
  3. thilixD
    OP

    Newcomer thilixD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    the game just freezes, then I try to open the task manager, and then the OS itself freezes.

    I updated to the latest version of the Catalyst Control Center for my Video Card
     
  4. thilixD
    OP

    Newcomer thilixD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    doesn't it have anything to do with my motherboard drivers?
     
  5. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    How did you update? There's different methods and not all will get you the latest.
     
  6. thilixD
    OP

    Newcomer thilixD Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded the latest driver from the AMD website, uninstalled my older driver and installed the new one
     
  7. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    May be the motherboard/chipset drivers. Uninstall your video drivers, then install the chipset driver package for your motherboard.
     
  8. Frederica Bernkastel

    Member Frederica Bernkastel WebPerf and PWA advocate; @antoligy on Twitter

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2008
    Messages:
    3,145
    Location:
    Hinamizawa
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Check your software config under catalyst control center, it's likely that it's forcing some settings that Crysis's rendering engine doesn't like (like MSAA etc...)
     
  9. ollepoll

    Member ollepoll GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    162
    Location:
    germany
    Country:
    Germany
    and you may check your ram with an autoboot usb stick or if you have ubuntu installed you can use memtest x86
    (don't remember any usb ram check atm)
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Memtest x86 has a bootable CD form.
     

Share This Page