Hardware Issues restoring NAND dump with Win32DiskImager

Status
Not open for further replies.

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
There doesn't seem to be a clear-cut guide anywhere on how to do this, so I'm really lost. I have Win32DiskImager open, and I have my 3DS hooked up to my PC via the special SD card adapter, but when I try to write my backup back to the 3DS, W32DI just says "An error occurred when attempting to get the device's geometry. Error 1: Incorrect function." I've tried two different USB SD card readers, I've tried writing it when the 3DS is on a black screen (since it's bricked), I've tried writing it when it has the bootrom error from being connected to my PC, and nothing is working.

So what am I supposed to do?
 

_v3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
699
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,315
Country
Croatia
Did you manage to get a succesfull NAND dump before attempting to write the NAND back to the 3DS???
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
Your question is a little confusing, but yes, I tried to read before writing, and it gave the same error, so it won't read or write anything.
 

_v3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
699
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,315
Country
Croatia
Your question is a little confusing, but yes, I tried to read before writing, and it gave the same error, so it won't read or write anything.

I was asking this because if neither a dump nor write succeed you probably didn't solder everything correctly. Double check to make sure you did everything correctly and then report back (both the 3DS and the SD adapter).
If you need there's a youtube video that I can link you to for checking purposes.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
I had it installed for me, and the installer said they were able to make two successful backups with matching hashes, so..
 

_v3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
699
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,315
Country
Croatia
I had it installed for me, and the installer said they were able to make two successful backups with matching hashes, so..

This might actually be silly, but try giving the program administrator privileges. Although not required (atleast not on my end) this might be your problem.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
This might actually be silly, but try giving the program administrator privileges. Although not required (atleast not on my end) this might be your problem.


On my PC W32DI always prompts for admin access, so I don't think it's that. I'll reboot my PC with UAC disabled just to check though.

Edit: UAC disabled makes no difference. I've also tried moving the lock slider into both the locked and unlocked positions, no difference.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
When do I need to do the reading/writing, exactly? Should I only try when the 3DS is connected to the PC with the bootrom error, or when the screen is black, after having turned it on without it being connected to the PC?
 

_v3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
699
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,315
Country
Croatia
On my PC W32DI always prompts for admin access, so I don't think it's that. I'll reboot my PC with UAC disabled just to check though.

Edit: UAC disabled makes no difference. I've also tried moving the lock slider into both the locked and unlocked positions, no difference.


Check the SD adapter, I'm almost certain a wire isn't connected properly in there somewhere (all it takes is a little tug to break these).
 

_v3

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
699
Trophies
0
Age
29
XP
2,315
Country
Croatia
Check the SD adapter, I'm almost certain a wire isn't connected properly in there somewhere (all it takes is a little tug to break these).


Make sure the SD card adapter is plugged into the SD card reader before turning it on, after you get the bootrom error try to read / write.
 

jmanpenilla

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 3, 2015
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
53
XP
31
Country
United States
Make sure all solder connections and wires are intact. also, boot into blue screen mode plugged into PC, then unplug and plug back in.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
I don't really have the tools or know-how on how to check if the wiring is right, so I guess I'll have to be sending it back..

Edit: Going to run out and buy another USB SD card reader..maybe it's just an issue with two bad readers? If it was the wiring, wouldn't the 3DS not boot to the correct 8046 bootroom error at all?
 

Avalynn

I'm here to learn and help.
Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2014
Messages
407
Trophies
0
Age
34
Location
CA
XP
287
Country
United States
If you ground out DAT0 or CMD it will cause the system to 8046, here is a small guide I made that works for me. The program seems to have issues sometimes, like error 5. If you have a normal SD or microSD try reading that and seeing if you get the same error as well.
 

daxtsu

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2007
Messages
5,627
Trophies
2
XP
5,119
Country
Antarctica
I don't know how to ground out anything, and like I said, I don't have the right tools to even open the 3DS the rest of the way. When i turn it on now it just goes to 8046 even without the adapter being plugged into the socket, so this 3DS is gone (as in, I can't fix it myself, so it's basically dead).

Edit: I'm just going to get a new 3DS (dunno if it'll be a N3DS, maybe just an old XL or something). Thanks for all the replies..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    sombrerosonic @ sombrerosonic: i know