Issue with bottom screen after installing a CIA file

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by subliminalsmurf, Apr 21, 2016.

  1. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    Hi guys.

    Visited this site a lot when putting cfw on my ds but never posted. Thanks to all for the helpful stickies.

    I am in a pickle and hope you guys might be able to offer advice.[​IMG]

    I bought Xenoblade a few weeks ago but my cart went in the wash. my mistake!

    So, today I installed the CIA. I noticed after this my bottom screen now has a line of text that won't shift. This is in SYS and EMUnand.

    Updated / re-downgraded 9.8-9.2 but it is still there in sys and emunand.
    I would be grateful if you guys could help if you can.

    It's a month old XL but given the text on the screen is FBI related nintendo repair wouldn't be my first stop. Also, they'd sent one back with 10.7 and I quite like my GBA emulator.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    First of all what does the text say secondly if the 3ds was to be updated to 10.7 by Nintendo it can still be downgraded either by using cubic ninja or ocarina of time.
     
  3. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    Hi, the system itself is fine. 9.2 / 10.6 emunand still intact after my tinkering so hopefully I won't have to use oot hax or get another machine. but the text is just a line of broken letters from the FBI install... Pic above not linking... try this.

    https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BxccOvTfyynzTUk4Tkc1S3ozVDA/view?usp=sharing
     
  4. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    Ok looks like screen burn did you leave the 3ds on for a long time while installing your game in fbi. Like did you leave fbi on for a good few hours.
     
  5. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    No longer than usual. Took a while to install but maybe 5 mins left after max. Store bought it from can replace but will they see that line and just say no? Argh.
     
  6. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    Hmm I would say if it's happening in sysnand and emunand then it's definitely screen burn it can't be anything else as they both technically use different system files unless you forget to unlink the Sysnand and emunand then it could be software related
     
  7. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    Yeah, it's definitely unlinked. Made sure of that when I installed CFW (reinand). Just to be on the safe side powering the thing down for a bit.

    Screen burn is permanent, no? Balls.
     
  8. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    It can be fixed but I'm not sure how it's done I remember reading about a fix for it about three months or so ago on here. Leave the 3ds off for a couple of hours and see what happens and I will try and find the thread that was posted with the fix just in case leaving the 3ds off does not fix the problem then in a few hours post in the thread or pm me if leaving it off fixed the problem or not.
     
  9. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    Thanks. I'll have a poke about here while my kid is asleep. Month off and I really want to finish Xenoblade. :)
     
  10. mikey420

    mikey420 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    387
    110
    Dec 11, 2015
    United States
    Those were burned in... This is why fbi needs to use a screensaver function....

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Should be able to fix it with a flashing random brightness bottom screen. Problem is Idk of an app to do this. The random pixel changes should be able to reduce if not fix all the burned in imagery.
     
  11. zezzo

    zezzo The "Black Ace"

    Member
    479
    170
    Sep 14, 2015
    United States
    i believe there was a homebrew for that
     
  12. mikey420

    mikey420 GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    387
    110
    Dec 11, 2015
    United States
    Please do link it if you know of one as I know a few people that could use this tool. I'm sure I could build something but I'm almost always working.
     
  13. Just3DS

    Just3DS GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    440
    109
    Jan 31, 2015
    LCD should not have burn-in issue at all. It's the case with LED or AMOLED screen that we say (the only current gen handheld gaming console that came with AMOLED was the first batch of PS Vita afaik).

    This one looks most probably like LCD not refreshing at certain areas (certain transistors in that area are not able to refresh, either due to overheating of LCD panel (rarely possible on 3DS) or the defect in the LCD panel itself (broken or loose connection between LCD panel glass and the LCD controller embedded within the panel).

    Try removing battery from console and leave it out for few minutes (also try press power button without battery inserted) to drain out and discharge circuit. Try inserting again and see.

    You can also use latest build of NTR CFW and use its backlight brightness adjustment to set it at lowest level (0 and 1 values on N3DS turns off backlight completely). Then set it back at 100.
     
    Last edited by Just3DS, Apr 21, 2016
  14. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    Read this and you might just change your mind https://m.reddit.com/r/3DS/comments/31le8k/n3dsxl_top_screen_problem/
     
  15. Just3DS

    Just3DS GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    440
    109
    Jan 31, 2015
    It is related to refresh issue. Transistors need to referesh preodically. If a charge is left it will keep unwanted transistors on for a while. This is not permanent.

    Screen burn-in is something which is permanent, like some physical or chemical change. AMOLED has this issue.
     
  16. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    I get what you are saying but for one I don't know the correct name for it and any time previously it has been discussed on this site and others it has always just been called screen burn again I guess because people don't know the correct term to use
     
  17. subliminalsmurf
    OP

    subliminalsmurf Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    1
    Apr 21, 2016
    Thanks for the heads up on the "screen burn" theory guys.

    I turned the unit back on after 2 hours off. Still there but when I left the console powered on for a while the "burn" faded.

    I guess there was some kind of anomaly with the display. I've been cautious with the N3DS as my old one decided it was better for me to play my games on a completely garbled bottom screen and a top screen with no concept of black.

    Seems to be sorted now so I've avoided having to replace.

    Again, Thanks for the info and suggestions. Read some interesting theories and learned about new stuff to watch out for.

    I appreciate it.
     
    Marko76 likes this.
  18. Marko76

    Marko76 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,455
    1,935
    Aug 19, 2015
    United Kingdom
    Clydebank
    Glad you got it sorted out.
     
    subliminalsmurf likes this.
  19. GothicIII

    GothicIII GBAtemp Fan

    Member
    488
    134
    Jan 4, 2015
    Gambia, The
    Nonsense screenburn xD

    No I think it's Kind of a buffer problem/gpu memory not cleaned properly on device reboot.

    It's definitely a software issue. I have the same 'problem' with a9lh text sometimes showing on the bottom screen in home menu like in your screenshot. You can only see it if the screen is grayish. If I restart the 3ds the text starts to fade out after every few restarts until it vanishes completely. I'm not sure what it's causing it but for me it was messing around with the a9lh brightness settings.
     
    Last edited by GothicIII, Apr 21, 2016