.ISO -----> disc ------> .ISO

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by geedub, Dec 5, 2008.

Dec 5, 2008

.ISO -----> disc ------> .ISO by geedub at 3:02 PM (1,472 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. geedub
    OP

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hi guys !
    to cut a long story short ! im waiting on an external HD to arrive , in the meantime im fighting for room on laptop and pc !

    so i have burned some .ISO's to disc to free up space !

    now when my HD arrives , what is the easiest way to back these up on HD ?

    i know you can make an img with imgburn ! i also know that my laptop and pc dont seem to read these , i say seem cause when i pop one in pc the drive does see a DVD rom , but when i click onbto it , there is nothing and my pc ejects tray say please insert disc blah blah blah ( i did read about the lg drives )


    any thoughts guys ?

    these backups wont have to be redumped ..........................will they ?

    cheers in advance !
     
  2. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to make an img using imgburn so you won't have to redump. you can make copies from copies with img burn, but to read original wii disc's you need the lq drive. you should be fine. I'm doing one now, and it only takes 5 min.
     
  3. geedub
    OP

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    phew thats a relief !
    just thought i was getting a bit ahead of myself and if i thought before hand id have burned them rar'd ! but if it doesnt matter , im pleased cause i thought id just made myself more work lol [​IMG]
     
  4. noobwarrior7

    Member noobwarrior7 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,594
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    fyi:
    if you burnt them with nero, they most likely won't re-burn, your copy may play fine, but nero has a known issue, which, when you try to back it up again (Even with ImgBurn) it won't reburn correctly.
     
  5. wiiv1.5owners3

    Member wiiv1.5owners3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    United States
    can you use nero for this issue?
     
  6. smash_brew

    Member smash_brew I may or may not have fallen

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2008
    Messages:
    708
    Country:
    United States
    didn't know about the nero issue, being as i only use imgburn. good to know though. thanks
     
  7. geedub
    OP

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    no i burned original image with imgburn !

    now for another question , how would you make a disc to disc copy then ? ie

    could you

    .ISO -----> disc ( using imgburn )
    then disc ---> disc ( with Nero )

    could i then give disc to my bro in law who can then use imgburn to backup to .ISO on his HD

    or is the Nero ploblem just with the 1st initial burn with the .ISO ?


    like i said this is just an initial problem i have , cause i had to burn to make room for more ! so i have a few on disc which i burned as img so i could make sure that worked or i would have just burned them rar'd ! my 1000Gb HD will be here next week ! so that will be the end of this lol

    cheers for your replies , much appreciated !
     
  8. Joey90

    Member Joey90 Not around any more

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2007
    Messages:
    703
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Go to imgburn, choose 'exact copy'. Insert burnt disc, wait for it to copy. Insert blank disc.

    This will not work with real wii games though, only copies.
     
  9. Tichinde925

    Member Tichinde925 Marth Ditto Money Match?

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,096
    Location:
    Warwick, Rhode Island
    Country:
    United States
    Easiest way to back them up (my method): Burn a DVD disc as a data disc and just put the .iso in there.

    This backup wont ever have any scratches as it will not be in use at all, only the burned Wii game may get some due to use and handling.

    Then if I ever need to burn that game again, I would just put the DVD in, click and drag the .iso, and burn that iso.
     
  10. djdynamite123

    Banned djdynamite123 Master Of Hardcore!

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,791
    Location:
    Redcar, England UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sometimes backing up a iso burnt via Nero, in my case, as i only burn with Nero unless its a tiny iso then imgburn, anyway, if you burn with Nero, it wont show up you have anything in the disc drive, and when you use imageburn to re-create the image from the disc, it sometimes fails so you have to try again and it works, happened a few times, iv backed up about 10 games before, and that problem has happened about 4 times, so it does still work, one other thing i may add, i have 2 writers, ones a ram writer and 1 isn't, anyway my LG ram writer is my main burner, and my Sony drive reads my ISO's better than what the actual Burner does, strange never mind, I just say LG loves burning, Sony loves Reading [​IMG] hehe
     
  11. geedub
    OP

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    thanks to all that replied ..............cheers
     
  12. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    I like:
    Code:
    dd if=/dev/dvd of=GAME.iso
     

Share This Page