Is the USA sony playstation 3 slim just 120v or is it 100-240

Discussion in 'PS3 - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by FusionDragon, Dec 22, 2010.

  1. FusionDragon
    OP

    Newcomer FusionDragon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Hello new topic im not sure if this is the right place to ask this but either way can someone please tell me whether or not the sony PS3 slim 120gb model CECH-2101A is dual voltage meaning it can work in more than one place on a different voltage because i just recently moved from america (where outlets are 120 volts) to italy (where outlets are 220 volts) on the bottom of my ps3 it says 120V~2.1A 60 Hz but i have heard rumors that sony only puts the idea across that their ps3s are only the voltage of the area you are in so people dont import from america where some things come out earlier or to make you wanna buy a whole new ps3. so can someone please clearify this and if you can show me proof of this working or can someone who has actually done it confirm that it is dual voltage? thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. impizkit

    Member impizkit Lazy Lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    943
    Country:
    Australia
    I dont know for sure, but i highly doubt that it will work on 220v when it was designed for 120v. Someone else will have to confirm, but I think you may need some type of converter.
     
  3. FusionDragon
    OP

    Newcomer FusionDragon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for replying. i went to an american store yesterday and they had 100 watt and 300 watt italy to USA converters and the guy there said the 100 watt would work but i came home and looked it up on internet and most people say the ps3 on average takes about 200 to 250 watts so i could go back and get the 300 watt one but 1. its 60 dollars. 2. the place is two hours away. 3. i honestly dont want to rely on a converter cuz some people say if they blow a fuze or just go bad they can screw up watever is plugged into them. and i just bought my ps3 5 or so months ago so i do NOT wanna waste 300 dollars.
     
  4. FusionDragon
    OP

    Newcomer FusionDragon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    i just dont get why sony would put a different voltage setting in EACH of there ps3 that are shipped to a different are rather than making it universal. Additionally encase anyone wanted to know i read online that if it is not dual voltage i will either A. fry it or B. explode it. and i do not want to die or lose a hand so can SOMEONE PLEASE clearify?
     
  5. FusionDragon
    OP

    Newcomer FusionDragon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    please is anyone out there? cuz your not responding to me may cost me my life. [​IMG] i will just plug it in and see wat happens if i have to but i would prefer knowing whether or not my life or my PlayStations life will abruptly end.
     
  6. leinad

    Member leinad GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2007
    Messages:
    409
    Country:
    Germany
    I dont think anyone will realy be able to tell you.
    But I know, that early models required the region's volt. Later there were multi-compatible PSU's.
    Probl. the reason why to put specific labels. But some time passed since I considered taking one from the USA

    Just thinking economically uniform PSU's are the best choice, but you never know...
     
  7. Moose13

    Member Moose13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2008
    Messages:
    248
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tired customer service on Sony.com?

    They have a chat feature. I would ask them. If they say yes it does, see if you can try to save the conversation, just it case it something goes wrong, you will have proof that they said it works.

    Sony Support Page
     
  8. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,234
    Country:
    United States
  9. FusionDragon
    OP

    Newcomer FusionDragon Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    okay thanks to everyone. i just gained the courage and plugged it in. and it worked! i confirm that my usa ps3 slim 120gb model CECH-2101A is working with 220v although on the bottom it only says 120v. sony lied people.
     
  10. DaMummy

    Member DaMummy GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,265
    Location:
    Cleveland
    Country:
    United States
    OMG IM SHOCKED! ive looked into this as well, and yes usa ps3s work in europe, check the power supply itself, not the sticker on bottom
     

Share This Page