Is My Wii Bricked?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MIcheal81, Nov 17, 2015.

  1. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    My Wii sat unused for a while and had been softmodded. I did as little modding to it as possible to play backups. I did a nand backup. My Wii could not be modded using boot2 and I don't have Priiloader.

    I was going to sell it and went to use "ohneswanzenegger" to create a new nand. I tried to restore it and everything went OK. When I tried to turn back on the Wii, it is not showing anything. The TV is showing no signal. I know it is not a problem with the TV or connections.

    Is there anything I can do to fix it?
     
  2. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    596
    93
    Jul 20, 2013
    United States
    I'm no expert but if you don't have BootMii in Boot2 or PriiLoader installed and your Wii does nothing when you turn it on then I am thinking you are out of luck. Hopefully someone else may have some better advice for you.
     
  3. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,738
    2,494
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
    You need one or the other... You're screwed. :(
     
    Kelton2 likes this.
  4. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,738
    2,494
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
    With Priiloader, all he would have to do is load BootMii as a IOS, and restore his nand backup.
     
  5. Jayro

    Jayro MediCat DVD and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    4,738
    2,494
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
    So chalk it up to hardware failure? Possibly moisture damage?
     
  6. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    I figured I was screwed. I probably did something wrong when tried to create a new nand with "ohneswanzenegger." Oh well.
     
  7. LittleFlame

    LittleFlame Thinks he's better than all of you

    Member
    746
    2,101
    Jan 30, 2015
    Netherlands
    That one place
    dude before you do shit always get bootmii first
     
  8. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    Well it had been a couple of years since I messed with the Wii. I thought I was doing it right. I should have been more careful. Oh well, I was selling it anyway and I got a new Wii U with Mario Maker.
     
  9. Clutz450

    Clutz450 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    596
    93
    Jul 20, 2013
    United States
    So wait. You created a new NAND and tried to restore that to your Wii? That may have been where you went wrong because I believe you are only supposed to use a backup of your own NAND.

    Also, while there is nothing that he can do to fix it, can't someone with a hardware flasher take his Wii apart and reflash the NAND for him?
     
  10. GreyWolf

    GreyWolf GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    3,860
    737
    Mar 2, 2015
    United States
    You can use the tool he mentioned to wipe your dumped NAND but from what he posted it sounds like he used a clean one, so it is probably dead. Someone here had an Infectus that offered to do that a while back but honestly it would be cheaper to just buy a new Wii from a pawn shop nowadays. If he wanted to sell his old one it probably isn't worth shipping it to someone to have fixed. :/
     
  11. roseputter

    roseputter Member

    Newcomer
    22
    9
    Jun 28, 2015
    Simple chip replacement will fix it, but the internal data of your Wii might get erased, sorry :/
     
  12. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    How would I go about doing that? Where can I get a new chip? From another Wii? What do I have to look for to make sure the chip will work?
     
  13. FaTaL_ErRoR

    FaTaL_ErRoR AKA ŦƕƎ ƠṀƐƝ

    Member
    491
    346
    Mar 9, 2014
    United States
    You would go about it by buying the same nand chip model as what is in your wii. But then you would also need your keys and a nand.bin to flash it back. Or another persons decrypted nand and your keys. Either way you still would need to flash the new chip to function.
    Either way you look at it you will need to flash it.
    If you don't mind just shelfing it for a bit I am working on something that should boot up and run emulated nand. My only question to you is: does your light on the front go from red to green when you power it up?
    If that answer is yes then what I hope to release soon should in fact fix your issue. But just for shits and giggles did you try removing your sd card and booting up? If that is how you are booting then did you try booting it up with the sd card inserted?
    And to those saying he should have had priiloader installed or bootmii....Yep wouldn't matter. He more than likely replaced his entire nand and it would have been overwritten. Just hang in there buddii, I have to take my vacation before I lose it and will have two whole weeks to work on this.
     
  14. pwsincd

    pwsincd Garage Flower

    Member
    3,305
    1,702
    Dec 4, 2011
    Manchester UK
    nand flash required.... see our old friend Deadlyfoez
     
  15. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    I have my original backed up nand and keys. The light does go from red to green. It does not boot with or without my SD card inserted.

    Thank you for your help. I look forward to what you come up with.
     
    Last edited by MIcheal81, Dec 7, 2015
  16. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    Any progress?
     
  17. Jason Roberts

    Jason Roberts Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    0
    Jan 4, 2016
    Canada
    same thing happened to me. Luckily I had another wii to create a backup on. I would suggest that if you have a friend with a softmodded wii, ask him if you could use his to backup. only solution I can think of. otherwise, its bricked.
     
  18. MIcheal81
    OP

    MIcheal81 Newbie

    Newcomer
    7
    0
    Nov 17, 2015
    United States
    Would not work in my case. I have my backup nand. It can't be restored without a flashing tool since it won't boot.