iPhone 4 JB Issues.

Discussion in 'iPhone, iPod & iPad' started by Devin, Feb 7, 2011.

Feb 7, 2011

iPhone 4 JB Issues. by Devin at 7:00 PM (2,308 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I just recently bought a iPhone 4 from AT&T, and I want to JailBreak it. I'm using the latest build of greenpois0n, and I'm following all the steps correctly. But when I start up greenpois0n it has two CMD windows saying "Error The process iTunes.exe could not be found", and the same thing pops up for iTunes helper.exe. greenpois0n still works, but it stops when I press the Jailbreak button. The loading bar never loads.

    Any help? I've reinstalled iTunes, and I've restored my iPhone 5 times now. -_-

    Thanks.
     
  2. Dter ic

    Member Dter ic ~

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,757
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    open itunes while you jailbreak....

    (i'm not sure if that would work)

    admin, windows 98 compatibly?
     
  3. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Still nothing...
     
  4. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    Windows xp compatibility mode?
     
  5. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I'm running Windows XP.
     
  6. azoreseuropa

    Member azoreseuropa GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2002
    Messages:
    4,497
    Location:
    I am deaf and live in the USA for now :D
    Country:
    Portugal
    Did you try limera1n ? It is easier than greenpois0n and quicker. [​IMG]
     
  7. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    GreenPois0n deliberately tries to end those 2 processes before it starts so that iTunes won't come up when you plug your iPhone in.
    I assume you only got this iphone recently, if it was only today and you've only installed iTunes today I suggest rebooting to let the Windows Registry catch up to you. Only other thing I can think of is to run as administrator if you're not already.
     
  8. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I still couldn't get it to work. -_- So I went out, and bought a $15 iTunes card.
     
  9. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Its not. It requires exactly the same steps and will not jailbreak 4.2.1.

    Were you running greenpois0n on an account with admin privileges? It might need those to go about ending processes....
     
  10. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Yup, I even made a new admin account just to be sure. Nothing. It doesn't require the 2.4.1 update to be downloaded to the PC right? Like before the only issue I have was it not doing anything when I pressed Jailbreak. I left it alone for a while, nothing. In the videos I've seen it's supposed to JB it pretty fast?
     
  11. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yep, pretty fast.
    I'll assume you're at latest firmware, latest baseband, latest everything. It shouldn't require a 4.2.1 downloaded update BUT it needs an internet connection to download all the files. Add it into your firewall exceptions if its not there already. Other things would be to right click and choose run as and choose administrator (should be named as such)

    Only other option would be that Apple have finally patched the hole but that would've been publicised to hell....
     
  12. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    I'm at the latest firmware for the iPhone, iTunes, and greenpois0n.

    I have a pretty fast internet connection.

    I haven't touched the FireWall, what do I do?

    I've tried that as well.

    (Thanks for all your help BTW.)
     
  13. Jamstruth

    Member Jamstruth Secondary Feline Anthropomorph

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,456
    Location:
    North East Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    What firewall do you use? You have to go into its settings and find the program exceptions. Manually add GreenPois0n and give it full internet access. This is different for every firewall so it'll take a bit.
    No idea why its giving you those "cannot find iTunes" glitches but it shouldn't affect the JB while no internet access would.
     
  14. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Windows Firewall. I fixed the glitch. When you have a iDevice connected iTunes is supposed to pop up. Greenpois0n stops the iTunes process. It giving me the error, is it saying that iTunes hasn't started. I just manually started iTunes, and the errors didn't pop up. I'm not home yet, but I'm gonna try the Firewall exception.
     
  15. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Still nothing. Am I helpless until another untethered Jailbreak is released?
     
  16. Dialexio

    Member Dialexio GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,546
    Country:
    United States
    I don't see anything wrong with what you're doing. But don't dread waiting for months in agony; redsn0w for 4.2.1 should be available shortly after "feedface" (4.2.1 untethered exploit) becomes open source. [​IMG]
     
  17. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    YAHOOOOO! I got it working. I logged into my Admin account, and pressed run as admin. xD I thought if I was already logged in as a admin it would work. I have a question though.

    1. I've heard of people bricking. What is that? Is it similar to a Wii Bricking? Can I install a "preloader"?
     
  18. metamaster

    Member metamaster GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
    Canada
    There is almost no way to brick an iOS device, since the part that loads DFU in the software initializes before the firmware. I think it's even part of the bootrom, so it can't be changed either. So if you got any problem with your device, you can fallback and restore.
     

Share This Page