IOS 55??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Disco, Mar 5, 2009.

Mar 5, 2009

IOS 55?? by Disco at 10:20 AM (2,151 Views / 0 Likes) 7 replies

  1. Disco
    OP

    Member Disco GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2006
    Messages:
    374
    Location:
    Croatia
    Country:
    Croatia
    If I update my wii with IOS55, will trucha signed discs still work?

    My wii is 3.2E (wiikey 1.9s).

    This is the name of file which I have ''IOS55-64-v4633.wad''.

    EDIT: and can I uninstal it afterwards?
     
  2. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    You can run trucha discs if they're using a different IOS than 55.
    It's better you don't uninstall

    EDIT: I think IOS55 is the IOS used by 3.4 system menu cause if it is then don't install it!
     
  3. madmikeuk

    Newcomer madmikeuk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No, IOS51 is used by System Menu 3.4.
     
  4. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Thanks for the info. Most of the time I know this stuff but I don't care much about 3.4 so I wasn't sure
     
  5. computerboy

    Member computerboy GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2008
    Messages:
    802
    Country:
    Switzerland
    REMOVED (double post cause of connection)
     
  6. rasputin

    Member rasputin GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    868
    Country:
    United States
    It will make games that need it work, that's all.
     
  7. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
    IOS51 -> Shop Channel
    IOS50 -> 3.4 System Menu
     
  8. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,283
    Country:
    Netherlands
    An IOS will only be started when software calls for it. All software is coded to use a specific IOS. So just installing a new IOS will not affect any previous software. The system menu, if you just keep it un-updated, will still use the same IOS. So trucha discs are not affected
     

Share This Page