1. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Hi all,

    Thanks for taking the time to read. I'm very noob but I feel I'm close to being able to play the english patched MHX cia (yes I own the japanese cart, this is not piracy, see below)

    Starting with what I've done so far:
    Followed guide https://gbatemp.net/threads/tutorial-installing-rxtools-custom-firmware-3ds-and-2ds.390867/
    I now have o3ds USA (no flashcart) sysNAND 9.2 and emuNAND 10.3 with CTR Boot Manager starting from cold boot (that is, renamed the ctrb.3dsx to boot.3dsx, homebrew 3dsx to boot_hb.3dsx, so now I can boot straight to RXtools)

    I injected FBI into the H&S app on emunand, and in rxmode emunand I'm unable to install game CIAs. Error is below:
    Install failed!
    Could not install app.
    Raw Error: 0xd8e0806a
    Module: AM (0x20)
    Level: Permanent (0x1b)
    Summary: Invalid argument (0x7)
    Description: Invalid signature (0x6a)

    Installing with BBM and FBI both give this problem at 100% install/import. (edit: also tried both BBM and FBI on 9.2 before I unlinked my nands, same result) Installing BBM, HBL cias worked fine, and I have tried many different game cias for testing, redownloading and whatnot. I must have at least tried 10 times so I feel I can rule out corrupt cia.

    Also, another perhaps related problem: using the region free launcher, I cannot load MHX (freeze before game loads, requires hard boot). I've been told MHX can only run on new firmware, which is why I've updated to 10.3 on emunand (play MHX on emunand, other games on sysnand) So, this confuses me. When I boot HBL cia from emunand, it loads the boot manager instead... and going to homebrew menu from boot manager, then trying to load the cart region-free produces this error.

    So to sum up:
    1. Why can't my FBI install any MHX cias to the SD? I thought RXtools could bypass signature problems (perhaps this is simply my misunderstanding)
    2. How can I get the region free launcher to run on my 10.3 emunand and therefore be able to run MHX cart? It freezes, leading me to believe it's trying on my 9.2 sysnand.

    Sorry if this has been posted already, I've been searching and reading guides for many hours so I feel I've done my due diligence. Any help is appreciated and if any info is needed, please let me know.
     
    Last edited by advurb, Jan 12, 2016
  2. Johnal Khow

    Johnal Khow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Try using BigBlueMenu instead of FBI, and installing it to both your emunand and sysnand.
     
  3. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply, but as mentioned above I tried both BBM and FBI. I didn't mention this in the post but actually I did try to install before on 9.2 and had the same problem when my nands were still linked and both 9.2. I assumed this was because of the low firmware version and decided to move on.
     
  4. Johnal Khow

    Johnal Khow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    Have you tried installing other cia's? If yes, does it give the same error?
     
  5. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    As mentioned above, I tried many different MHX cias with various versions of the english patch. Will try another game now, but I don't expect much difference.
     
  6. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Tried another MHX cia, same problem.
     
  7. Johnal Khow

    Johnal Khow Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    97
    Country:
    I see.. sorry I could not help you much.
     
  8. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    No worries, I appreciate the help regardless!
     
  9. solitaire4eva

    solitaire4eva GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    What brand sd card you using and size?
     
  10. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    sandisk 16gb. It does have very low free space, less than 1gb.
     
  11. tNB

    tNB GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    Albania
    This happens to me sometimes, and the closest thing I could find to an answer is "bad sectors on SD card". I don't know if this is actually the case or not, but I worked around it by copying the .cia to the SD card twice, then installing off the 2nd one, and then deleting both. Using another SD card might also work.
     
  12. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I'll give this a try now, thanks.
     
  13. squee666

    squee666 Advanced Tech Pleb
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,155
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you dont have enough free space on your sd card.

    MH is like 1.5gb+ so you need that space free to install it you are trying to install a 1.5gb+ game onto 1gb of free space of course it will fail
     
    Last edited by squee666, Jan 12, 2016
    Quantumcat likes this.
  14. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    I cleared some other games off first of course, enough space for 3 MHX cias.
     
  15. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Just tried the bad sectors lead, sadly same result. Still can't seem to get MHX to stick.
     
  16. solitaire4eva

    solitaire4eva GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    285
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like a bad sector. Perform a disk check to see if anything pops up on the scan.
     
  17. advurb

    OP advurb Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, but I formatted 3ds and SDcard, redid the whole process, and now things work fine.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - installing, signature, Invalid