Internet problem

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Maplemage, Aug 28, 2010.

Aug 28, 2010

Internet problem by Maplemage at 3:25 PM (911 Views / 0 Likes) 6 replies

  1. Maplemage
    OP

    Member Maplemage ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Why would you care?
    Country:
    Antarctica
    I have 2 laptops and 1 of the laptops get disconnected from the Internet (it's connected to wifi) and I can't connect to the Internet on my laptop but everything else can connect to the Internet iPod touch, wii, the other laptop. Then it shows there is no problem with the Internet and when I try to browse the web it doesn't work or it's extreeeeeemely slow like it takes 2 minutes to load google, and it says that I'm connected but it doesn't work. But the other laptop connects fine to the Internet same for the wii and ipod touch is there a way to fix this?
     
  2. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Update your wireless drivers on the problematic laptop to start with. Also scan for viruses, spyware etc that could be slowing your laptop/connection down.

    You could also try connecting the laptop directly to your router by network cable just to establish it is indeed your wireless on the laptop that is the problem, or if it's something else.
     
  3. Maplemage
    OP

    Member Maplemage ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Why would you care?
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Kk thanks for the info I'll do it tomorrow after I get some zzzzzz'sssssss.......
     
  4. Am0s

    Member Am0s Mojo Risin

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2009
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    power cycle the router for 2 mins then see if that resolves the issue.
     
  5. Maplemage
    OP

    Member Maplemage ಠ_ಠ

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,142
    Location:
    Why would you care?
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Uuuh power cycle?
     
  6. Elritha

    Member Elritha GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,037
    Country:
    Canada
    Power off the router for the given time, then power it back on.
     
  7. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's also worth doing the same to your WiFi device - disable WiFi on your laptop, then turn it back on. That's how I fix the apparantly inherant problem in all BroadCom WiFi cards.
     

Share This Page