Internet connection error

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Zonix, Jul 18, 2009.

Jul 18, 2009

Internet connection error by Zonix at 12:22 AM (588 Views / 0 Likes) 2 replies

  1. Zonix
    OP

    Member Zonix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hi. I bought a new Pc in pieces today. Installation went like a dance on roses. But when I was going to download some drivers off the net. I saw that internet didn't work. I try to install the network hardware thingy from the "Add hardware" thing on the control panel. But I only get a "Limited or no connectivity" error. The nefwork thing is intergrated and I've tried transferring that drives to my new Pc by downloading them on my old one and transfer using a Usb stick. It works but the instalation wizard only tells me to shut off and insert the PCI card. Help me.
     
  2. moose3

    Member moose3 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    NC
    Country:
    United States
    Limited or no connectivity normally refers to an internet connection, while hooked into the jack or connected wirelessly, not getting past a router or switch. Such as not getting the proper DHCP information.... are you by chance using wireless and you have not told the router to expect signals from the new comp? Or is your router set to really high security such that even wired connections need to have their MAC Address listed?

    If it's integrated into the motherboard, then the response from the installation program seems like it was meant for a different card... Was the device manager saying there was a problem with the original drivers loaded, as in a yellow sign with an exclamation point?
     
  3. Zonix
    OP

    Member Zonix GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2007
    Messages:
    231
    Country:
    Sweden
    I'm using a wired connection, and we're not really using a router it's a modem thing that the splits up the connection so you can put more cables in it. The device manager have none of the signs. But when I tried to install the other two network things from Add Hardware it says that they don't work and they do have the sign.

    I looked through the CD that I got with the motherboard and I found the drivers and stuff there. It's working now. Thanks for the help [​IMG]
     

Share This Page