Tutorial  Updated

Installing Corbenik/Skeith CFW

I'm not particularly fond of a tutorial for this, but the existing one is outdated, so I might as well write this, if only to prevent the other guide from being the only one while not working.

This tutorial will cover installation using Corbenik CFW Updater: RE.

Notes:
The author of the CFW is NOT responsible for Corbenik CFW Updater: RE or this method of installation.
Corbenik CFW Updater: RE is not endorsed or supported by chaoskagami.
Also, it's not really hard to set up the CFW with a PC. This method has the sole advantage of not needing a PC.

Corbenik vs. Skeith:
Soo, what's the difference? Well. Corbenik CFW is the stable version aka release version.
Skeith is the exact same thing as Corbenik CFW - however, they're the nightly versions. While Skeith is generally stable enough for daily use, inexperienced users shouldn't mess with it (or, to be honest, with a CFW like this at all, really).
Pick either. Corbenik is installed to "sdmc:/corbenik" and Skeith to "sdmc:/skeith".


Requirements:

Tutorial:

  1. Download and install Corbenik CFW Updater: RE (you can do so from the official page or TitleDB/FBI/Homebr3w).
  2. Open Corbenik CFW Updater: RE.
  3. Select the option to install the CFW you want (either Corbenik or Skeith).
  4. Corbenik/Skeith will be downloaded, along with the required files.
  5. You'll be prompted to reboot once it finishes. Press A.
  6. You'll boot into the Corbenik/Skeith menu. Pick the patches you want (FIRM protection, signature patches, autoboot, etc.)
  7. Go back to the Corbenik menu and hit "Boot firmware". It should boot you into the Home Menu.



But really, if you need a tutorial, you shouldn't be messing with a CFW where FIRM protection isn't on by default.


NOTES: If you encounter issues, it's because either Corbenik/Skeith or the Updater are broken. If this does not work, follow the instructions in Corbenik's repo.
 
Last edited by gnmmarechal,

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
6,032
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,930
Country
Portugal
What are differences between this and other cfw like Luma and cakes?
Well, like Cakes, and unlike Luma, it gives you absolute control. It uses bytecode patches and all (and has a cool name/version string).

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000x using Tapatalk
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Autism
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
27,611
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
37,880
Country
Antarctica

dotqurter_

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
74
Trophies
0
Location
lost in ARM9
Website
www.google.com
XP
102
Country
United States
My only question is: how would I install it alongside of Luma3DS (cause the tutorials and wiki's are a bit leanient on what they consider "easily do-able") and keep my ability to run pkmn sun/ssb4 (advanced RAM games) (just so that I can learn my way around coding, and so I can trust my friends around my 3ds without worrying they'll brick something and I won't know what they did.)

Honestly, at this point, I probably shouldn't even be putting this CFW on my 3ds cause I'll end up tinkering and irreversibly brick my console.
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
6,032
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,930
Country
Portugal
My only question is: how would I install it alongside of Luma3DS (cause the tutorials and wiki's are a bit leanient on what they consider "easily do-able") and keep my ability to run pkmn sun/ssb4 (advanced RAM games) (just so that I can learn my way around coding, and so I can trust my friends around my 3ds without worrying they'll brick something and I won't know what they did.)

Honestly, at this point, I probably shouldn't even be putting this CFW on my 3ds cause I'll end up tinkering and irreversibly brick my console.
Huh. Corbenik does support extended RAM games. Also, you can either use a bootloader or my own Quick Payload Switcher.
 

dotqurter_

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
74
Trophies
0
Location
lost in ARM9
Website
www.google.com
XP
102
Country
United States
Oh. I was going off the Luma3DS's thing with "Enable custom path", as it said something about extended RAM games not working properly (can't find it now, thats weird.) and I'll be using Luma3DS a bit more than Corbenik.
Any chance I could have a link to that "Quick Payload Switcher" of your's?
EDIT: Never mind, found your quickswitch .cia on the releases of your github
 
Last edited by dotqurter_,

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
6,032
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,930
Country
Portugal
Oh. I was going off the Luma3DS's thing with "Enable custom path", as it said something about extended RAM games not working properly (can't find it now, thats weird.) and I'll be using Luma3DS a bit more than Corbenik.
Any chance I could have a link to that "Quick Payload Switcher" of your's?
EDIT: Never mind, found your quickswitch .cia on the releases of your github
Luma needs a custom path patch *if you change the path from the default one*. Corbenik doesn't need it.
 

gnmmarechal

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
GBAtemp Patron
Joined
Jul 13, 2014
Messages
6,032
Trophies
2
Age
25
Location
https://gs2012.xyz
Website
gs2012.xyz
XP
5,930
Country
Portugal

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Autism
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
27,611
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
37,880
Country
Antarctica
But wouldn't that overwrite my current arm9loaderhax.bin with the Corbenik CFW's a9lh .bin?
You can do that, you can also setup Corbenik to boot from external loader. So you can boot Corbenik as a Luma3DS payload or from a bootloader.
Also this guide is really out of date. The official repos have the up to date guide
https://github.com/chaoskagami/corbenik
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Autism
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
27,611
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
37,880
Country
Antarctica
Of course, gardevoir's panties raider would be here, she pretty much worships this CFW.
Anyway, I still don't see where the .bin for it appears at. Does it create it at first launch?
Are you not able to find the arm9loaderhax.bin or the location for the payloads?
Payloads goes in
For Corbenik
Code:
/corbenik/boot
For Skeith
Code:
/skeith/boot
You don't have to rename or anything, just copy and paste the payloads you want into that folder and they will show up in the chainloading menu.
So if you want Decrypt9, just copy the "Decrypt9WIP.bin" into that folder and you're done.
 

dotqurter_

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
74
Trophies
0
Location
lost in ARM9
Website
www.google.com
XP
102
Country
United States
Unless it uses a general arm9loaderhax.bin (or my download got corrupted somehow), I do not have any files in the /corbenik/boot filepath. I have a feeling that its a me issue.

EDIT: I found A arm9loaderhax.bin, but its at ~(SDCARD root)/corbenik/arm9loaderhax.bin, along with a couple other files that seem out of place. To be exact, 5 files, named: arm9loaderhax.bin, corbenik.elf, generate_localeemu.sh, LICENSE.txt, n3ds_firm.sh, o3ds_firm.sh, and README.md. Also, I've noticed an extra "corbenik" folder inside of the "corbenik" folder, with the rest of the filepaths inside.

NOTE: running a O3DS, hardware dating around end of 2012, beginning of 2013 (from what I remember)
 
Last edited by dotqurter_,

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Autism
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
27,611
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
37,880
Country
Antarctica
Unless it uses a general arm9loaderhax.bin (or my download got corrupted somehow), I do not have any files in the /corbenik/boot filepath. I have a feeling that its a me issue.

EDIT: I found A arm9loaderhax.bin, but its at ~(SDCARD root)/corbenik/arm9loaderhax.bin, along with a couple other files that seem out of place. To be exact, 5 files, named: arm9loaderhax.bin, corbenik.elf, generate_localeemu.sh, LICENSE.txt, n3ds_firm.sh, o3ds_firm.sh, and README.md

NOTE: running a O3DS, hardware dating around end of 2012, beginning of 2013 (from what I remember)
arm9loaderhax.bin goes into the root of your SD card, along with the folder named "corbenik". You don't need to worry about corbenik.elf, generate_localeemu.sh, LICENSE.txt, and README.md
n3ds_firm.sh and o3ds_firm.sh are used to download and place the firmware files in the right locations, so you don't have to do that manually. But I am not sure if the .sh files will work on Windows since they were made for Linux.
 

dotqurter_

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 21, 2016
Messages
74
Trophies
0
Location
lost in ARM9
Website
www.google.com
XP
102
Country
United States
Windows compatibility shouldn't be a problem since I'm using Ubuntu.

(Whelp, I forgot how to run stuff from the linux terminal, time to pull out the old "Linux Programming Bible" (yes i have a nearly 800page book about linux programming from 1998))

So, everything except arm9loaderhax.bin, the two x3ds_firm.sh's, and skeith can be deleted?
 

The Catboy

GBAtemp Official Catboy™: Big Autism
Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
27,611
Trophies
4
Location
Making a non-binary fuss
XP
37,880
Country
Antarctica
Windows compatibility shouldn't be a problem since I'm using Ubuntu.

(Whelp, I forgot how to run stuff from the linux terminal, time to pull out the old "Linux Programming Bible" (yes i have a nearly 800page book about linux programming from 1998))

So, everything except arm9loaderhax.bin, the two x3ds_firm.sh's, and skeith can be deleted?
Pretty much. You can delete the .sh file after you use it to get the firmware files.
 

Site & Scene News

Popular threads in this forum

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i remember have this for rca inputs over rf in the late 90's, iy was neat but i bet has a chunk of input lag when gaming.
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    thousand arm on ps1 is pretty cringe, but i can't stop playing it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    $100 is still too steep
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I use to wire rca from vcr to coax in my teens fun times
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    yeah a decent long hdmi is $20 at best, i still have a came stop branded component and s video splitter.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    gamestop*
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Wish I could drill holes where I rent I'd have hdmi socket plates
  • BigOnYa @ BigOnYa:
    You can get K3nv2 mum for less than $20, n that bitch has no lag at all.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    bro, hdmi and cat6 in every room is my dream home goals
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Good thing I already drilled @BigOnYa's wife
    +1
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    row row fight the powah!
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Cat6 is meh these days wifi pretty stable unless you ftp a bunch of shit all day
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i just prefer wired connections, more stability in general. i do ftp to my ps2 and og xbox and sometimes my 14tbof network storage for archival purposes
    .
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Ye I use to have set ups like those but now I just fell less wires the better
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    when i say network storage i mean locally over openmediavault.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    Just haven't had a reason to care for massive storage home media servers anymore
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    one day i will set up the hp dl380 g7 i got for $50. when i have an appropriate closet to blockout the wind turbines it houses for fans.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it's got like 48gb of ddr3 in it.
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    I almost got enough spare parts to do a secondary pc build with a 7950 windforce wonder what it benches out to these days
  • K3Nv2 @ K3Nv2:
    3gb gddr5 lol
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    i had a 960 2gb in the server for a min as a gaming pc probably
    a bottle neck with two xeon x5680's , it wasn't terrible not the best experience but nothing amazing fits in u2 rack mount server anyway.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    it was the loudest gaming experience for sure tho.
  • wolffangalchemist @ wolffangalchemist:
    also probably had the power bill higher than my 5800x3d and 6950xt do.
    Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight: BURRITOS! :P