How well will Dolphin Run on this?

Will this Run Dolphin well?

  • No

    Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Almost

    Votes: 1 6.7%
  • Yes

    Votes: 9 60.0%
  • It will Crush Dolphin

    Votes: 5 33.3%

  • Total voters
    15

Raylight

Paranoid Temper
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
1,168
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Who wants to know?
Website
sites.google.com
XP
2,365
Country
United States
Last edited by Raylight,

Raylight

Paranoid Temper
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
1,168
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Who wants to know?
Website
sites.google.com
XP
2,365
Country
United States
It'll run fine at the defaults for sure.
Which GPU do I need?
Compared to processors, choosing a GPU for Dolphin is a fairly simple task. The more powerful the graphics card, the more pixels and enhancements you can throw at it before you’ll see slowdown. However, the biggest thing to watch for is making sure the GPU supports DirectX11.1 and OpenGL 4.4. Dolphin emulates a console that functions very differently from a traditional PC, and uses the latest D3D and OGL features to reduce overhead. If you do not have those extensions, performance will suffer.

  • NVIDIA: Due to the importance of the OpenGL Extension “Buffer Storage” no NVIDIA GPU before the Geforce 4xx series can be recommended. Despite being a bit old, the Geforce GTX 460 will handle almost any game you throw at it in HD resolutions. Older NVIDIA GPUs will still be able to run the games fine, especially within the D3D backend and in OpenGL with older builds still using the “Vertex Streaming Hack.”
it says it should run almost anything in hd so 745 should do better right? i plan to run everything at 720p at the very least
 
Last edited by Raylight,

sup3rgh0st

Top Tier Ghost
Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2010
Messages
451
Trophies
1
XP
2,298
Country
United States
Then why did you need to post to make a post? lol. Dolphin isn't as resource intensive as it used to be, it'll run fine, HD as well.
 

Clector

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
1,039
Trophies
0
Location
Not here
XP
413
Country
Bangladesh
I think your CPU is okay if you want to don"t change it in some time and don"t matter the cost, but if you want to save some money you can use the equivalent i5 of that CPU there sin"t really much difference that you really will notice.
 
Last edited by Clector,

Luckkill4u

4 guys in a car ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
1,029
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Insomnia
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,104
Country
Canada
if you can recommend something better already built and for the same price range id like that lol
http://www.ibuypower.com/Store/Intel-Z170-Core-i5-Configurator
http://www.cyberpowerpc.com/system/INTEL_i5_SFF_Configurator

No matter what people say you don't need an i7 processor.... You simply just don't.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

or this if you need amazon https://www.amazon.com/CYBERPOWERPC...597011_1_2?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1473734789&sr=1-2
 
  • Like
Reactions: Raylight

Raylight

Paranoid Temper
OP
Member
Joined
May 10, 2014
Messages
1,168
Trophies
0
Age
32
Location
Who wants to know?
Website
sites.google.com
XP
2,365
Country
United States

Noctosphere

Adoptive father of Zelda
Member
Joined
Dec 30, 2013
Messages
6,033
Trophies
2
Age
29
Location
My own appartment, finally!!!
XP
11,111
Country
Canada
i would personally tell you to get a better gpu.
the cpu looks great, but not the gpu, its 3 generation late. try getting a gpu around 9xx or 10xx for even better performance.
i runned dolphin perfectly fine on my gpu 760 but if you want better performance on recent game, i recommend you a better gpu
 

orangy57

bruh
Member
Joined
Aug 17, 2015
Messages
846
Trophies
1
Age
20
Location
New Jersey
XP
2,593
Country
United States
It'll do great, but really any dedicated graphics card made in the past 4 years can easily run Dolphin on high settings. Your GPU may be holding you back for more intensive games though.
 

Luckkill4u

4 guys in a car ( ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°)
Member
Joined
Jul 13, 2008
Messages
1,029
Trophies
1
Age
29
Location
Insomnia
Website
www.gbatemp.net
XP
1,104
Country
Canada
  • Like
Reactions: Raylight

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Hulk turns back into banner and Shrek is disappointed
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Wasn't that the entire flick of the movie about the girl turning into an oger I'm sure Shrek 6 will gay shock the world
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Omg he's brown and gay and headlines!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Shrek finds a new swamp to wallow in.
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    Brown? Omg, I think I just flushed him down the tiolet
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Shrek's child comes out of the closet Shrek must learn how to not be cancelled
  • Wish13 @ Wish13:
    wth have I stumbled into
  • Wish13 @ Wish13:
    Oh whatever, I'm not even gonna try to comprehend what this is
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It's a chatbox congrats
  • Wish13 @ Wish13:
    Well, I mean what was happening up there
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    shrek jr making tiktoks about xyr bigoted neutral gender parent
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    1mill subs overnight
  • x65943 @ x65943:
    sub is a heteronormative term used as a pejorative upon their nonheteronormative brethren. It shall be replaced by power bottom
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I thought it meant subsandwhich before the internet took over
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Power Bottom sounds like a weight lifter hooker
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Press my power button bby
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Go go power bottoms mighty furry power bottoms!!!!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    It's furry time!!!
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Mega whore power activated!!!!
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Don't those hang out in the politic section
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Go go prostitute power, use crab lice attack, use herpes outbreak!!!
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: https://youtu.be/Vdfqo4EZjVM