1. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Hi.
    I have a old 3dsXl with FW 4.5. The system is completely unmodded and i would like to install CFW. Is there any possibilty to upgrade to 9.2? I wanted to use browserhax but its not working below 9.0. Are there other options to upgrade?
     
  2. The9thBit

    The9thBit Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2015
    Messages:
    93
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, but you will need some way to already launch CFW; I'd suggsst rxTools as it can be launched from the browser on 4.x. MAKE SURE TO USE DEV MODE. If you do it in rxMode you WILL brick your system.

    Other than that, search it on GBATemp (you should have done that already). A guide already exists.
     
  3. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Thanx for the answer. Would it also be possible (or safer) to buy a game with 9.2 FW on it?
     
  4. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
    you can easily do it by going into something like rxTools Pasta/Dev Mode or miniPasta. don't use rxMode sysnand or whatever or you will cause a brick. install sysUpdater.cia and extract the updates folder for your region (assuming 9.2.0-20E?) to the root of the SD card.

    Latest release
     
  5. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,602
    Country:
    United States
    Follow this guide to setup rxTools and update to 9.2. Do you have a working web browser?
     
    Xenon Hacks likes this.
  6. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
    since they're on 4.5, a DS flash cart that works on 4.5 will do for the MSET exploit as well.
     
  7. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    There is a webbrowser on my 3ds. As i said, the system is completely unmodded. Are there 4.5 systems without working webbroser?
     
  8. Lacius

    Lacius GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    16,602
    Country:
    United States
    If you never updated through the internet and only received updates through game cartridges, it would be possible to not have a working web browser installed since game cartridges don't include the web browser. Your full system version should be 4.5.0-XE, with the X being the web browser version. If the X is 0, then you don't have a web browser installed. If your X is greater than 0, then you should be good to follow the guide I linked to above using the web browser.
     
  9. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,952
    Country:
    United States
    2.0.0-2 was the first version with the web browser actually.

    but still, if you have a DS flash cart, you can use that instead of the browser because you are on 4.5.
     
  10. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yes, i have a webbrowser. I followed your suggested guide, but when try to open go.gateway-3ds.com i allways get an error. "failed to load part of this page". I tried to re-format my sd, deleted my cookies and history, switched wlan on/off and downloaded the packages again. nothing worked so far.
     
  11. Xenon Hacks

    Xenon Hacks GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2014
    Messages:
    7,413
    Country:
    United States
    Do you have gateways launcher.dat on the root of your sd card?
     
  12. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Yes. I followed the tutorial. But after renaming the files in the root of the sd i am stuck.
     
  13. zappalot

    OP zappalot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Ok...Funny thing happened. After 20 times of trying and troubleshooting it didnt work. But now i tried the QR code and it worked. Strange.
     
  14. Pikm

    Pikm GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    682
    Country:
    United States
    I think you can just install the NAND file for 9.2.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - upgrade,