1. lelouchbritannia

    OP lelouchbritannia Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Philippines
    Hello can somebody help me with this error when I used my new sd card.
    Is there any thing I can do before to drag and drop the files to new sd.
    Unknown pkg1 version.
    HOS version not supported!
    or Emummc corrupted.

    Failed to launch HOS!

    Im trying to upgrade my sd card 128gb to 256gb.
    My 2 sd card already fat32 format, because my old sd is fat32.
    Im atmosphere user. FW=10.0.4 CFW=0.12.0.
     
  2. Leolaus

    Leolaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    try to create an image of the old card and flash it to the new then convert the fs to exfat
     
  3. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,558
    Country:
    Germany
    Why exFAT? exFAT is crap and shouldn't be used.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  4. Leolaus

    Leolaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    exfat is more used than ntfs, i haven't heard about switch supporting ntfs
     
  5. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,558
    Country:
    Germany
    Who talks about ntfs? Fat32 should be used.
     
    JustJay and BigOnYa like this.
  6. Leolaus

    Leolaus Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2020
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Italy
    but fat32 is maximum 32gb and you cant do multipartition on switch
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2015
    Messages:
    8,945
    Country:
    United States
    exFAT should be avoided, it has no journaling, there is no recovery from file corruption.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  8. lelouchbritannia

    OP lelouchbritannia Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Philippines
    then I should make a partition on my new sd? can someone enlighten me pls Im newbie in this switch.
    thanks for your help.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    But my old firmware is fat32 then even I copy an old files I think it will make another error.
     
  9. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,590
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using a 1tb with fat32.
     
    BigOnYa and zxr750j like this.
  10. Basketto

    Basketto GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2019
    Messages:
    479
    Country:
    Australia
    Do you have the right partition scheme for FAT32? It should be MBR(Master Boot Record) after formatting.
    Also if you can send a payload, formatting using Hekate you cant go wrong. Hekate also has the option to dump pkg1/pkg2. You could try that on you old sd card before transfering.
     
    Last edited by Basketto, Nov 21, 2020
  11. jockep

    jockep GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2017
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    Sweden
    Fat32 supports Up to 8TB, it does however have a filesize limit of 4GB.

    For homebrew Fat32 is recommended.
     
  12. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,528
    Country:
    United States
    Make a new partition formatted as FAT32.
     
    BigOnYa likes this.
  13. DMcGinnis

    DMcGinnis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    How do you guys get games bigger than 4gb onto fat32 sd?
     
  14. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,558
    Country:
    Germany
    USB Install or splitting. 5 mins. of google ;)
     
  15. DMcGinnis

    DMcGinnis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    The usb install isnt working for me. Keep getting an error. Probably crappy sd card. Deal with that later.
    When i split the files it turns into a file format that doesnt work and cant figure out how to change is to nsp. Any suggestions on a converter or better spliter?
     
  16. Maupiti

    Maupiti GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2018
    Messages:
    363
    Country:
    France
    NSC_Builder https://github.com/julesontheroad/NSC_BUILDER
     
    Last edited by Maupiti, Feb 23, 2021
  17. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,558
    Country:
    Germany
    Set an archive bit. Either in goldleaf or via windows.
     
  18. DMcGinnis

    DMcGinnis Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2021
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry for dumb questions but im mediocre at best with this kind if stuff.
    What is an archive bit and how do i “set” it?
     
  19. BaamAlex

    BaamAlex CVE-2018-6242
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2018
    Messages:
    3,558
    Country:
    Germany
    An archive bit is a single bit within a file that indicates whether the file has been backed up or not.

    Rightclick on the folder → Properties → Advanced → Folder can be archived.
     
  20. Draxzelex

    Draxzelex GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2017
    Messages:
    14,528
    Country:
    United States
    You can also unset it via the Archive Bit fix via Hekate.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - upgrade,