How to program things in BASIC

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by naved.islam14, May 7, 2011.

May 7, 2011
  1. naved.islam14
    OP

Member naved.islam14 Gbatemp's Official Dark Knight™

Sri Lanka
    Can anyone help me find a total noob's guide for how to program with BASIC?

2. Buleste

Member Buleste Old Fart

United Kingdom
    What type of BASIC?

3. naved.islam14
    OP

Sri Lanka
    I would like to know about how to program simple games.

4. SifJar

Member SifJar Not a pirate

United Kingdom
    He means what BASIC interpreter you are going to use. i.e. how are you going to run your BASIC programs? Each is a little different. A few simple commands (I almost typed "basic commands", lol") are:

PRINT

Displays text on screen

Example:[/p]
    Code:
    10 PRINT "Hello World!"
    INPUT

Get input from the user of the program

Code:
    10 INPUT "What is your name?", NAME$
    (stores the name in a "variable" called NAME$)

GOTO

Jump to a specific line (this depends on BASIC interpreter, not all use line numbers - if yours does, you number each line, starting with 10, then 20 etc. (so if you need to add more later, you don't need to renumber every line after it)

Code:
    10 PRINT "Hello World"
    20 GOTO 10
    END

Ends the program

Code:
    10 PRINT "Hello World"
    20 END
    IF...THEN

Does a comparison and then performs an action if it is true

Code:
    10 "Type 2:", A$
    20 IF A$ = 2 THEN GOTO 10
    30 END
    I think this is all right, been a long time since I programmed BASIC.

A good reference is here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BASIC#Syntax

5. Fishaman P

Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

United States
    Just get Liberty BASIC, the free version, and experiment.

Or get Petit Computer for the Japanese DSi.

6. Buleste

Member Buleste Old Fart

United Kingdom