how to make 3d pics for the 3ds

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by morphius, Mar 28, 2011.

Mar 28, 2011
  1. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    I have taken 3d pictures before i had the 3ds and wanted to see if i could view them in the camera app. It was VERY simple. Below is a VERY simple tutorial on how to do it.

    1.)Download Stereo Photo Maker from http://stereo.jpn.org/eng/stphmkr/

    2.)Obtain some stereo pair images.
    a.)There are quite a few available here http://www.lhup.edu/~dsimanek/3d/stereo/3dgallery.htm
    b.)Use the "leaning method" with a normal camera/cellphone. Lean a bit to your left and snap a pic , then a lean a bit to the right and snap a second picture.

    3.)Open Stereo Photo Maker and load your stereo pairs. If the left and right images are together in 1 jpg then click File>open stereo image. If the left and right images are 2 separate jpg files then click File>open left/right images.

    4.)Align your images. There are a few options for this , but the simples is to click the "auto" button in the toolbar. It will auto align the images for you.

    5.)Resize to 640x480. Click Edit>resize. then resize to x=640 y=480

    6.)Save your work. If you look at your SD card on your PC you will find the following directory tree DCIM>100NIN03 You will see a bunch of files named like HNI_0004.JPG and HNI_0004.MPO where the number will be up to the last picture you took. Lets say 0004 was the last you took. Go to to File>save left/right images and save it as HNI_0005.JPG this will be your "preview pic". Then go File>save MPO file and save it as HNI_0005.MPO.

    7.)Put both the HNI_0005.JPG and HNI_0005.MPO into the DCIM
     
  2. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    I have a whole bunch of 3D pictures I've taken with the "leaning method" as you call it.
    I tried making an MPO from one of them with stereo photo maker but I didn't do the auto alignment thing so I'm not sure how well it will work.

    I don't have a 3DS to test it on until Thursday

    Could you have a look and see if it turned out alright?

    Edit: looks like I got the left and right images mixed up this first time. Please ignore this file and try my seonc one down in post #9.
     

    Attached Files:

  3. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    As it is you seem to have the left and right images mixed up as the efect is negatived. Give me a few and I'll fix it
     
  4. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    ok I fixed it, not sure how to attach a file to the post though. But for those having the same problem with their stereo pairs you simple need to click the swap left/right button on the tool bar.
     
  5. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    3DS' native resolution is 400x240 per eye, so I guess you could save some space by downscaling pictures even more.

    Also, cameras usually do not take pictures with widescreen aspect (16:10), so maybe some cropping should be applied to fill 3DS' top screen completely ?
     
  6. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    The MPO's saved by the 3ds are saved in 640x480
     
  7. pachura

    Member pachura GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2006
    Messages:
    566
    Country:
    So what ?
    3DS' camera has different resolution AND different aspect than 3DS' screen.
     
  8. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    You got me? If i could figure out how to upload images/files (is it because of my user status?) I would show you the raw files from my 3ds. The "preview" or flat mode is 640x480 and the MPO is comprised of 2 640x480 images. though i CAN tell you there is some cropping that occurs in the files that are captured vs the what is seen on the screen.
     
  9. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    Interesting fact:
    When taking photos with the AR games you get 400x240, but when taking photos with the actual photo program you get 640x480.
     

    Attached Files:

  10. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    I have no attachment editor only post and options. Must be my user level. Anyways I was thinking about this last night. 2 640x480 images would make sense to a degree. You have to remember that the images are not stacked directly on top of each other else there would be no 3d data. One is to the left and one is to the right, causing a rectangular image aspect ratio. thats my best guess anyways
     
  11. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    ok seems you do NOT have to resize to 640x480, also no need to save a preview .jpg either
     
  12. hksrb25s14

    Newcomer hksrb25s14 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    Please Show me How to make the images pop out, I've been using this program on jpeg i found on the web, it has a 3d feel when i use it but without the pop outs.

    I must learn the ways, I must learn it to make adult @#$%!!! mpo's.
     
  13. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    it is only gonna "pop out" hahaha no pun intended.... as much as the original 3d set does
     
  14. morphius
    OP

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    hksrb25s14 : check you PMs
     
  15. Rankio

    Member Rankio GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    Country:
    United States
    If you use 640 or 400, it'll load faster on the 3DS because the 3DS will have less resizing to do if any at all.
     

Share This Page