How to Incress the Internal Memory, Is it Possible?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kytran, Dec 22, 2008.

  1. kytran
    OP

    Member kytran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    i haven't opened a Wii yet [​IMG] but im just wondering what type of memory is installed on it?
    it is pin based soldered on? or just a simple ram chip?

    anyone know? i think i should pick up my tools from work and see if i can take it apart and check it myself as well, maybe i can play around with the actual hardware to make it have more memory.

    build a simple add-on chip....

    not sure if any of you have seen this before?

    http://consolegameslist.com/wii-internal-m...y-expansion.php

    lol made me laugh and makes me thinking what can we do to do it hardware wise

    there is already 1 mod for the GC memory
    http://www.modpulse.com/articles/console-m...emory-card-mod/
    but im really curious

    already have created this one
    http://www.modpulse.com/articles/console-m...wii-sensor-bar/ for the sesor bar and it was FUN
     


  2. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    lolll, that's a funny ''scam'' right there.
    ''Oh yeah! Do not delay to be purchasing this unit as it will not be evailable for long period.''
    ''Sorry Product Does Not Be Existing
    You be fooled by crankyHacker!''

    lmfao

    If you're gonna prank people, atleast try to get the grammar right.
     
  3. kytran
    OP

    Member kytran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    lol im not trying to prank.... hehe im actually trying to figure a way out but i was fooled by that link and thats what gave me the idea to figure a way to hardware mod the memory module
     
  4. Zeek03

    Member Zeek03 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Its Not (Currently) possible. No has ever made an effort. Don't even try. The Wii has 512Mb Flash Memory. Drop it!
     
  5. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I just wish someone can make the USB capable of sync my iPod so I can dump disc without taking my sd back and foward to the PC [​IMG]
     
  6. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    would it be possible to piggy back the internal flash?
     
  7. kashin

    Member kashin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I know you're not trying to prank or scam, was reffering to the link.
     
  8. linkinworm

    Member linkinworm GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,324
    Location:
    Birmingham (England)
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i think someone did, twiizers? and apparently the wii can be installed with say 4gb hynix flash, but the wii will only ever see 512mb of it. there were some vague details on the issue behind it, if im correct
     
  9. kytran
    OP

    Member kytran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah i was thinking of a piggy back idea or alter the processing chip on it itself.

    btw Zeek03

    if this is possible

    http://hackmii.com/2008/06/dual-nand-flash-hack/
    then, there could be a way.

    i mean seriously 12 months ago Softmod a wii was all " no way, can't be done , and look where is it today "
     
  10. kytran
    OP

    Member kytran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    Also on another note.

    i've see alot of people having problems with games not working with bootloader with memory card plugged in.

    this can be a reason why.

    http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showthread.php?p=38902

    and possible a backdoor posibility.... unless it has been blocked up but i don't think so
     
  11. renodion

    Newcomer renodion Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Canada
    Maybe you should try the hefty little tool called "HTML iso dumper" which ables you to dump discs directly on your pc via WiFi and through Internet Explorer or Firefox as a simple download... I've been using it forever now, and it never let me down [​IMG].

    p.s. one disc takes about 2 hours to download on your computer, at ~450kb/s.
     
  12. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    You can use a USB to dump the files. Just make sure that it is formatted to FAT32. I think the limit is 2GB though.
     
  13. kevenz

    Member kevenz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Canada
    it would be so great to have a 32gb flash drive instead of a 512mbs one, well at least 2gb, I'm so annoyed to always delete something to install something new.

    but after that.... someone would need to hack the 42 channels limit [​IMG]
     
  14. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    yeah I know, I use Waninkoko's DVD Dumper, but I want to use my PC too, you know, and not sharing its tinny capacity of procesing [​IMG]
     
  15. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Well... here's a thought:

    Someone release a mod for cSM/Bootmii about making the wii able to read more than just 512MB.

    And since TT successed on modding the flash memory, I don't see why it won't work....
     
  16. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    can't be done
     
  17. afif95

    Member afif95 I own a bungalow on Mars, and booked 4 corner lots

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    1,805
    Location:
    Malaysia!
    Country:
    Malaysia
    Mind telling why?

    Thought it was only about editing the wii software code
     
  18. buby78

    Member buby78 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    491
    Location:
    getting blazed
    Country:
    United States
    if they were able to soft mod the wii anything is possible [​IMG]
     
  19. ekolimits

    Member ekolimits GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    298
    Location:
    N.J.
    Country:
    United States
    impossible untill bootmii. end of story.
     
  20. kytran
    OP

    Member kytran GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    148
    Country:
    Canada
    or the new Forsakeen's System Menu Mod.

    once we get past the system menu and have a different one instead of the Wii one.
    it will perfect [​IMG]

    i've been setting up my Wii with the Dual NAND.

    have it open just about to solder it.
    wish me luck... btw.. forget who it was who says "Wally World" dead wii's, it works [​IMG]
    even with a missing NAND [​IMG]
     

Share This Page