How to get MGS: Peace Walker to Work

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by luke_c, Jun 6, 2010.

Jun 6, 2010
  1. luke_c
    OP

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    WORKS FOR BOTH 5.50 GEN-D3 AND 5.00 M33-6
    MAKE SURE YOU DO NOT COMPRESS THE ISO OTHERWISE IT IS UNLIKELY IT WILL WORK
    MAKE SURE YOU USE A CLEAN ISO IMAGE
    WORKS FOR BOTH EU AND US RELEASES


    HOW TO PATCH:

    Download ISO_TOOL_V1.52_unofficial_by_dan here: http://www.megaupload.com/?d=QNMN9WG0

    Unrar it, and place the file in your PSP/GAME folder.

    Make sure the MGS game is where it's supposed to be (ISO folder),

    Turn on your PSP and start the ISO Tool, then:

    Move the cursor onto the iso.
    Press X, select decrypt.
    It will ask you if you want backup, say no.
    It will then ask you version patch say yes
    It will then ask you if you want to start, select yes.

    Once done, ensure cursor is still on the iso, press x.
    Select patch
    Select prometheus (not the recover one)
    Once done exit out of the app and enjoy!

    Credit to riin1979 for the guide and TaZz for informing me of it.

    I know for DEFINITE that this method works for BOTH firmwares, so if it's not working for you, you're doing something wrong.

    GEN-D3 Configuration Options recommended for Peace Walker:
    CPU Clock XMB/Game - Default
    UMD ISO Mode - M33 Driver No UMD

    For M33, Turn off "Speed up MS access" in the recovery menu before doing the Data Install. You can turn it back on after that's done.

    Other Notes: "Freeze" at the end of the prologue mission: Make sure you press R and look around at the end of the prologue mission or you'll think the game is frozen.

    For everyone still having issues try this crack:
    Metal_Gear_Solid_Peace_Walker_USA_CRACK_PSP-MRN
    mrn-mgspw

    Should only be applied to Metal_Gear_Solid_Peace_Walker_USA_PSP-pSyPSP release
     


  2. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You need to confirm which release these instructions will work for...US, EU, or both versions? Additionally whether this will only work on a clean image.
     
  3. luke_c
    OP

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Added the info to the post [​IMG]
     
  4. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    And my usual question.... GEN C, yes, no?
     
  5. Jolan

    Member Jolan Unlimited Bear Works

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,384
    Location:
    Netherlands, currently
    Country:
    Bulgaria
    5.03 GEN-C = 5.50 GEN-D3 in terms of everything except it's not permanent CFW.
     
  6. Zerousen

    Member Zerousen 【=◈︿◈=】

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,948
    Country:
    United States
    Now to wait an hour to download MGS. [​IMG]
     
  7. luke_c
    OP

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Someone said they got it working on GEN-C via this method, so it should work.
     
  8. PagaN

    Member PagaN GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    Cuba
    on 5.50 GEN-D3 game start random freezes later in game 40-60min,
    only on 5.50 GEN-D2 and 5.0 M33-6 working stable.
     
  9. luke_c
    OP

    Member luke_c Big Boss

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2008
    Messages:
    3,587
    Location:
    Land of England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm about three hours in and no problems at all for me, using Eu Promo version, you're probably doing something wrong.
     
  10. jinqui242

    Newcomer jinqui242 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    Messages:
    54
    Country:
    United States
    I followed all the steps and compressed to CSO and it boots up fine. Haven't played yet.
     
  11. Mikehoncho16

    Member Mikehoncho16 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    Having a small issue, I get to the cutscene where the sound effect CLICK comes up, I press R, and then it says its loading, but it sits there for like 5 minutes claiming that its loading, but its not.
     
  12. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks! Now I can stop asking that question. [​IMG]
     
  13. melvox

    Member melvox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
    Wait! So, this tool applies the prometheus method w/o the long eboot decryption and replacement process? Or is this just for MGS:PW? (Widely used line coming up!) Sorry for the noobish question. Just want to clear that up.
     
  14. acturus

    Newcomer acturus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    wow, i could not get it to work patching it manually. this worked like a charm!
     
  15. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    do you really need to do step 2?

    "Once done, ensure cursor is still on the iso, press x.
    Select patch
    Select prometheus (not the recover one)
    Once done exit out of the app and enjoy!"

    I used iso tool 1.51, loaded the iso (usa), x to decrypt then (no, yes and yes) and the game loads fine. Been playing for an hour and no problems so far on 5.50 Gen-D3 (slim2001)
     
  16. melvox

    Member melvox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
    wait, you didn't need to use MGSD3FIX? or did you have to use it?
     
  17. acturus

    Newcomer acturus Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Country:
    United States
    i used this method and have done the first couple missions without mgsd3fix and have had no issues.
     
  18. melvox

    Member melvox GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2008
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    Philippines
    AWWWE! And I just shifted to m33.... Darn it! Well time to go back to Gen d3! Thanks for the confirmation acturus!
     
  19. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States

    Nope, just ran iso tool 1.51 and thats it. no other patches or cracks but ive only played for an hour and didnt see any glitches or slowdowns, i'll report if it acts strange.
     
  20. Roxasorg13

    Member Roxasorg13 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there

    i have a prob...
    the game randomly freezes when im playing...whats happening__!!!
     

Share This Page