How to create Stereoscopic 3D using 1 image for 3DS?

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by Hazard7, Apr 7, 2011.

  1. Hazard7
    OP

    Member Hazard7 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    137
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi I already know how to create 3D mpo using the 3D feature on Youtube of 3D trailer and videos by print screen the side by side picture and put it on that mpo program. But I wanted to try create one by using 1 images like this image below and I want to know how I create it Stereoscopic 3D (by using the pictures side by side) with Photoshop CS5?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. lithium210

    Member lithium210 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2003
    Messages:
    414
    Country:
    United States
    hope you do find someone to help you out because thats a really awesome pic!
     
  3. AlanJohn

    Member AlanJohn くたばれ

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    3,425
    Location:
    Canada,New Jersey
    Country:
    Ukraine
    I don't think its possible... The only way to make a stereoscopic 3D image is to make 2 images from different angles.
     
  4. Deesotilio

    Newcomer Deesotilio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Norway
    I'll bet you money that if you extract certain parts and change the shading you can make it 3D. You know, CTRL+X, then highlight certain things, etc. Like if you took the highlights on the trees and shaded them a bit, for example, you could make an image different enough for a slight 3D effect [​IMG]
     
  5. doyama

    Member doyama GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
  6. L_o_N_e_R

    Member L_o_N_e_R GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    413
    Country:
    United States
    you can try editing the image to make it seem like its from another angle

    i think someone did that here with a legend of zelda pic(or some other forum... i forgot)
     
  7. Ikki

    Member Ikki GBATemp's grumpy panda.

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,797
    Location:
    Montevideo
    Country:
    Uruguay
    There are workarounds to make an image give the depth feeling. It's not really worth the work it takes though.
     
  8. Deesotilio

    Newcomer Deesotilio Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Norway
    Says you. I'm sure a lot of people will get really good results out of it [​IMG] The more artistically inclined, at least. Not like me [​IMG]
     
  9. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I tried making one of these myself and it worked but its not worth the time.
    I am advanced in Photoshop usage but it still took me the same time to create a piece of digital art.

    i could use Image Processing scripts for editting THOUSANDS of images simultaneously but it's too complicated to even setup the script.
     
  10. mdlmemorybank

    Newcomer mdlmemorybank Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    86
    Country:
    United States
    IT can be done [​IMG] but its a pain, i use CS5 like you and a fee program called "stereophoto maker" to come bind/save out the images in .mpo
    in order to make them in Photoshop i fallowed this guys instructions http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3r4M_KHt6aw
    tip: you want the reverse order of what you do normally for the cross eye method [​IMG] there is a button to this this easy
    good luck to you ^^
     
  11. morphius

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
  12. altorn

    Member altorn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    "it's a pain" pretty much sums it up. (well, for multiple images that is, if you want to make a single image, then it's worth it.)

    WABAAMMM!!!
    http://3dporch.com/Gnfr.mpo
     
  13. pkl2007

    Newcomer pkl2007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    80
    Country:
    Australia
    you have to create a depthmap and use the displace filter heres a youtube video on how to do it

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3r4M_KHt6aw

    i have use this method to create this http://3dporch.com/FHqJ

    Edit : sorry did not read the post by mdlmemorybank but in my opinion its better to use the polygon lasso tool or pen tool then blur it
     
  14. spiritofcat

    Member spiritofcat GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    577
    Country:
    Australia
    That looks pretty good for a 'lame attempt'!
     
  15. Dead End

    Member Dead End GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Location:
    Rockford IL.
    Country:
    United States
    Its not impossible.. Just hard to do depending on what you do...

    Just goto photoshop and Cut and redraw the Image, Layer by Layer... and then adjust each layer for the 2 images...
     
  16. koji2009

    Member koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    It's not impossible, but it will always be inferior to a real 3d picture taken with a real 3d camera... That's because a real camera takes 2 full images with details from slightly different angles. Modifying 1 picture means you don't have those extra details, you're basically just stretching, blurring, and displacing.
     
  17. MG4M3R

    Member MG4M3R GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    Brazil
    What MPO program?!

    I have a few JPS pictures here, but can't find a way to convert them lol XD
     
  18. morphius

    Member morphius The King of the Cosmos

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page