Homebrew How to change TWL_FIRM name?

Boured

A Dusk Lycanroc who cares a lot about people.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
594
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
My Laptop
XP
680
Country
United States
A while ago I let my sister use my 3DS, and during that time she named herself on TWL_FIRM with her name obviously. I want to change the name but there is no option to do so, only message and birthday. I formatted my 3DS once and the data was still there.

I have a 2DS that uses A9LH + Luma

If this is a noob question I apologize as I think this is a decent question.

Yes I tried to use JK Save Manager, TWL_FIRM didn't appear.
 

shutterbug2000

Cubic NINJHAX!
Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2014
Messages
1,088
Trophies
0
Age
27
XP
4,740
Country
United States
A while ago I let my sister use my 3DS, and during that time she named herself on TWL_FIRM with her name obviously. I want to change the name but there is no option to do so, only message and birthday. I formatted my 3DS once and the data was still there.

I have a 2DS that uses A9LH + Luma

If this is a noob question I apologize as I think this is a decent question.

Yes I tried to use JK Save Manager, TWL_FIRM didn't appear.

Try changing your 3DS mode name
 

DavidRO99

Average Ryzen user.
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
1,018
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
your back-door
XP
938
Country
Korea, North
A while ago I let my sister use my 3DS, and during that time she named herself on TWL_FIRM with her name obviously. I want to change the name but there is no option to do so, only message and birthday. I formatted my 3DS once and the data was still there.

I have a 2DS that uses A9LH + Luma

If this is a noob question I apologize as I think this is a decent question.

Yes I tried to use JK Save Manager, TWL_FIRM didn't appear.
Can't you use the Config app in the leaked sdk to change the 3DS name?
 

Boured

A Dusk Lycanroc who cares a lot about people.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
594
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
My Laptop
XP
680
Country
United States
Can't you use the Config app in the leaked sdk to change the 3DS name?

Thank you for trying to help, but there are a few problems.

1. I don't know where to get the leaked sdk

2. I'm trying to change the name that displays in DS Mode, not the name of my 3DS. I can change my 3DS name fine, but there is no option to change the DS Mode name.

Though of the sdk allows you to change your DS Mode name, I at least want a lead to where I can get the sdk since we can't link it.
 
Last edited by Boured,

Boured

A Dusk Lycanroc who cares a lot about people.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
594
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
My Laptop
XP
680
Country
United States
Uh.... you can change your name from system settings? Go to Other Settings -> Profile -> DS Profile and there you have it

Already tried that, I only get the option to edit the Message and the Birthday on mine. No option to edit the name. I'll show you a sceenshot when I can.

Thanks for the suggestion though.
 
Last edited by Boured,

DavidRO99

Average Ryzen user.
Member
Joined
Jun 11, 2016
Messages
1,018
Trophies
0
Age
25
Location
your back-door
XP
938
Country
Korea, North
Thank you for trying to help, but there are a few problems.

1. I don't know where to get the leaked sdk

2. I'm trying to change the name that displays in DS Mode, not the name of my 3DS. I can change my 3DS name fine, but there is no option to change the DS Mode name.

Though of the sdk allows you to change your DS Mode name, I at least want a lead to where I can get the sdk since we can't link it.
I think that changing the 3DS name using the leaked sdk also changes the DS Profile name... lemme test

EDIT:Nope
 
Last edited by DavidRO99, , Reason: Nope

Boured

A Dusk Lycanroc who cares a lot about people.
OP
Member
Joined
Sep 25, 2015
Messages
594
Trophies
0
Age
22
Location
My Laptop
XP
680
Country
United States
If you have a flashcard, you can run firmware.nds on it, and you can set the name and message for the DS Profile.

I do have an R4, could you link the nds here or through PM? Or do I need to go to that ISO site?
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But it doesn't have a speaker or battery.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Guess you could fit one in there.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The contacts are there, and the device already has charge control circuitry, but you have to buy and solder the battery yourself.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And that's too fiddly for ole' butterfingers over here.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Gimme a finished product please.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    No rough edges either, I might hurt myself.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Nah, I can do it within a few mins.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Well yes, I suppose you can, but I can't.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    If it has a USB port, then you could perhaps try connecting a power bank.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It has USB-C.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That should be alright.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well that was an owie hit my hand on the oven
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Hope you're alright there
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I enjoy the pain
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Not weird at all
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Who said I was normal
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I didn't ask
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It's okay to not be normal, act natural
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Ok just because you told me to
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That's fair
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I'm still bloody waiting for my eBay item to arrive, still haven't because of the *fuck you middle finger* pay strikes.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Can imagine other people waiting for their Xmas gifts.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Timestamp to the conclusion https://youtu.be/tAtaIZD0Ebs?t=624