How should I burn a PSX game?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by Raestloz, Nov 9, 2008.

Nov 9, 2008
  1. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    So, I was wondering how cna I get my hands on ol' good PSX games (Tomba, Team Buddies, Final Fantasy Tactics) and luckily, my friend lent me one of his hard drives, truns out there's some PSX games inside for his PSP.

    Problem is everything's EBOOT.PBP, not ISO, and ePSXe can't read a .pbp file.

    I somehow managed to get a Castlevania SotN for PS2, yes for PS2, somehow the pirate burnt it into a DVD, and it won't work with my PSX, but is smooth with my PS2 [​IMG] I wanna try the same damn thing, since my PSX is now with my sister, and I have the PS2 (we live seperately)

    Now, with only EBOOT.PBP, I don't quite understand how should I burn it into a DVD, should I burn it just like that(just the EBOOT.PBP)? Or should I do something beforehand?(maybe find some files or patch it or something?)

    Thanks
     
  2. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
  3. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Ah, thanks... I'll try this [​IMG]

    EDIT: Not working :\ ePSXe can't emulate the ISO extracted, also when I mount it to DAEMON Tools, Windows said it's corrupted, what should I do? I used Team Buddies, and ePSXe 1.6.0 in case it's not compatible
     
  4. Gore

    Member Gore GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,559
    Country:
    United States
    Just a note, the EBOOT.pbp is for playing it on a PSP.
     
  5. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
    did you put the pbp in the input area and then select the extract iso button?
     
  6. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Yes, and I did it thrice, the result is the same, Windows said it's either corrupted, or is not in a recognized format, while ePSXe do nothing but showing me black screen

    @Gore: Yeah, I know :/ thing is, I want to play it on my PS2, as I don't have PSP (well, I do now, until the end of this month that is, he'll take it back after this month :\)
     
  7. delta123

    Member delta123 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2005
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hyougo, Japan
    Country:
    Australia
  8. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    I can't believe it, I tried to do some search by myself and I ended up with the same thing: popstrip 0.3, unless mine is attached, and yours seem to be a direct download [​IMG]

    Awww, and they want me to register? Okay, fine I'll waste some of your database space.....

    EDIT: It works! The GUI one sucks but the non GUI one is a yes yes! ePSXe detects it and plays it, now the only problem would be, do I have to do somehting to the ISO before I burn it to a DVD?
     
  9. Gerinych

    Member Gerinych GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    Location:
    Look at the flag
    Country:
    Canada
    You can't burn PSX games on DVDs. It's something that happens when you play PSX games, I think the DVD diode block off or something.
     
  10. Fellow

    Member Fellow GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2008
    Messages:
    429
    Country:
    United States
    It doesn't make since to burn a PSX game to a DVD, because the PlayStation itself never used that format.
     
  11. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    cdrwin and burn the bin/cue.

    If you have got an .iso then the CDDA is going to be missing from the game.
     
  12. Raestloz
    OP

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    what's a CDDA? Well, I got the idea from my Castlevania game, it was burnt onto a DVD (i know it since it's a pirated game) and it works wonders on my PS2, however, with a CD Castlevania my PS2 can't recognize it
     

Share This Page