how many ram modules do you think this laptop has?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by test84, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,
    I've heard rumors that there is a second ram module under its keyboard but I want to be sure before opening it up, can anyone verify that via a picture or so?
     
  2. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    RAM Access Panel
    [​IMG]

    RAM module seatings
    [​IMG]

    RAM module seatings showing a second stick
    [​IMG]

    Specs show that it comes with 512MB, and can be upgraded to seat 2 (2gb) sticks for a total of 4gig of RAM
     
  3. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Tnx, but I can't see the second one when I open up the ram slot!
     
  4. Psyfira

    Member Psyfira Credit: 0ml. Insert tea to continue

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    3,887
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your computer might only have 1 module in it, with empty space for a second one.

    Compare the amount of RAM the computer can see to the label on the memory module (read the capacity off of the sticker on the module you can see, then close the hatch, turn your computer on and look in it's settings for how much RAM the computer actually has; on windows, go to control panel > system and read the RAM figure).

    If the computer reports a higher figure than the one you read off the board, there must be another module in there somewhere. (Note that if the computer reports a lower figure than is written on the module this is normal for some laptops, where part of the RAM is reserved for use by the video card)

    There is nothing in the instruction manual about a module under the keyboard (see page 52).
     
  5. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    Your computer came with the stock 512MB RAM. One "stick"... you will have to buy a second "stick", or replace your stock stick with a larger module...

    You could buy 2 (1gb) modules, and take your 512MB module out, and put both 1gb modules in, and have a total of 2gb
     
  6. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Thank you all great and kind people for your care, I'll test it out when I'll get home and reply back.

    Love you all, really.
     
  7. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY!

    I installed it! =))
    as u can see in the pix, Its in such strange place that I didn't even suspect it when I was searching for it several times before, and being me, who was assembling desktop PC's for years, when I was younger.

    Thank's y'll, I was actually going to sell this module!

    : )
     

Share This Page