How do I stop my FMCB getting over-written?

Discussion in 'Sony PlayStation 1 & 2' started by wrsg, Oct 17, 2012.

Oct 17, 2012
  1. wrsg
    OP

    Newcomer wrsg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    So I had a FMCB on a 8mb memory card which got corrupted because I think it ran out of space or something. I sent it back to DinohScene who very graciously recreated it.

    I bought another 8mb memory card to keep all my game stuff on it, but I notice some games keep saving stuff to whatever memory card corresponds to the controller port used. Is there a way to stop the memory card from getting corrupted in future, i.e. by moving any saves from it to the empty one? Are there any utilities that are good for this that I can use via the USB port?
     
  2. Fear Zoa

    Member Fear Zoa This... This is the world we live in

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,437
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    OpenLoader has a Virtual memory card feature where it makes a virtual memory card on the hard drive kinda like the ps3 does. If its a matter of space then that should work.

    Unless you don't use a hard drive in which case I have no idea :(
     
    1 person likes this.
  3. wrsg
    OP

    Newcomer wrsg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    It's a PS2 Slim, so I only have the option to use USB unfortunately. Would that work?

    I'm not sure if I already have Open Loader, is it normally installed on a FMCB? Could I run it from USB?
     
  4. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Yep its possible to run it via USB.
     
    1 person likes this.
  5. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just get yourself a second Memory card and install Free McBoot to that yourself. Then if you're worried about things getting corrupted put that one somewhere safe and you can always use it to reinstall FMCB on your MC which is in use.
     
    1 person likes this.
  6. wrsg
    OP

    Newcomer wrsg Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 2nd memcard so I'll give it a try, is there a guide for how to do this? Also, just to confirm, can I backup saves to a USB?
     
  7. GamerzHell9137

    Member GamerzHell9137 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    3,709
    Country:
    Bosnia and Herzegovina
    Yep, just copy the save folder from MC to USB.
     
    1 person likes this.
  8. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    http://freemcboot.info/noobie.html

    Use ULaunch to copy the saves to a USB drive. When you need them make sure you use PSU paste to reinsert them to preserve the date and time flags.
     
    1 person likes this.
  9. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,710
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    A piece of friendly advice - your "Corrupt Data" likely isn't corrupt at all.

    All folders which do not have icon files show up as corrupt. In the event of the memory card not having enough space, it simply stops writing. I've never heard of them flushing "apparently corrupt" data, but if it does occur, simply make sure that all your necessary folders have icons and show up as proper saves in the memory card browser.
     
  10. tbgtbg

    Member tbgtbg Shaking the ring ropes up in the sky

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,951
    Country:
    United States
    Is it an official or licensed Sony Memory Card for Playstation 2 (8MB), or some generic 3rd party card? If the latter, it's probably just the card being garbage.
     

Share This Page