How do I merge .Iso files?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zeldafanzero, Nov 12, 2008.

Nov 12, 2008
  1. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Ok, I tried backing up my copy of Super Paper Mario and as I don't have wireless at the moment I split it into 5 files onto my SD card.

    Now I have 5 .ISO files but I don't know how to turn them into a single file.

    I believe I saw a Command Prompt command to do this, but I've been searching all day and found nothing.

    Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
     
  2. acidrain

    Newcomer acidrain Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2006
    Messages:
    97
    Location:
    Montreal, Qc
    Country:
    Canada
    This command should work
    copy /b part1.iso + part2.iso + part3.iso + part4.iso + part5.iso complete_game.iso
     
  3. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love you.

    I'll try it when I get home. Many thanks!
     
  4. cracker

    Member cracker Nyah!

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    3,132
    Country:
    United States
    Also note that it has to be on an NTFS partition or the merge will fail when it hits the max FAT32 file size (4G).
     
  5. Zeldafanzero
    OP

    Newcomer Zeldafanzero Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2008
    Messages:
    61
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I thought the max FAT32 size was 2Gb? Anyways, I should be ok as it's formatted as NTFS. [​IMG]
     
  6. kornsk8er

    Newcomer kornsk8er Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    download imgburn if you dont have it and thers a option labbeled create image file from files/folders choose your files make sure there in order and it will build it to a .iso file
     
  7. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Hello folks, I am having trouble getting the complete iso that I built using the Imgburn software method to work. I get a error message saying that the iso is incomplete or damaged or something every time I try to launch it in dolphin. Also when I try the command prompt method of joining iso parts together (after ripping my wii disc on my my with Cleanrip and an sd card) it doesn't work. This is exactly what I enter:copy /b SF8E01.part0.iso+SF8E01.part1.iso+SF8E01.part2.iso+SF8E01.part3.iso+SF8E01.part4.iso SF8E01.iso DonkeyKongCountry.iso (and also tried SF8E01.iso) and it says it cannot find it. Someone please help.
     
  8. Fishaman P

    Member Fishaman P Speedrunner

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,174
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States
    Such old. Very necro. Wow.

    Imgburn cannot be used to rip Wii discs.
    The "copy /b" method will fail on FAT32 drives.
    That command creates the result ISO in the same place as the parts, so it'll be trying to make a 4GB+ file on FAT32.
     
  9. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks a lot for the reply. My hard drive is ntfs.
     
  10. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    As I am new at this, I realized, in the command prompt I didn't navigate to where my iso parts were stored first. Even after doing that first it doesn't work and asks ("More?")
     
  11. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Question: do I have to have the iso parts on the drive my operating system is on? Thanks for any help
     
  12. HNKii

    Member HNKii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
    Country:
    China
    I had my files on disk E while the OS is on C:/
    Just make sure they're not on a removable disk, that may cause troubles.
     
  13. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks. I don't understand why the command isn't being accepted. What exactly did you do to successfully combine the parts my friend?
     
  14. HNKii

    Member HNKii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    422
    Location:
    Mario Kart Wii-DS Link Play Stadium
    Country:
    China
    the copy /b method above.
    However, you do have to change the directory of the cmd to where your files existed
    Say, the cmd starts at C:\users\user> , while your files are at E:/SP2E01/MERGE
    You'll first type "E:", which changes your directory to E:\>
    then you type "cd sp2e01/merge" UPPER/LOWER CASE AND /\ DOESN'T MATTER FOR ME. and the display should change to E:/SP2E01/MERGE>
    (WHATEVER YOU DO, MAKE THE DISPLAYED DIRECTORY TO WHERE YOUR FILES ARE,then use the copy /b)
    You should be good to go!:)
     
  15. gamelover2101

    Newcomer gamelover2101 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for the reply. I also have mine on the E drive but when I try to navigate to that directory it gives me a message saying it is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.
     

Share This Page