How do I factory restore a laptop?

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by RemixDeluxe, Aug 27, 2011.

Aug 27, 2011
  1. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    Last night I decided to trade laptops with someone and we both backed up our computers but what we cant do is use the factory restore settings. I know it has something to do with pressing an F command on startup but I get the same two options for every F key I try? Is it possible to do a factory restore without a CD or am I screwed here?

    Here are the computer specs on both computers

    My computer
    http://i.imgur.com/UWa1d.png
    http://i.imgur.com/c1njd.png

    Their Computer
    http://i.imgur.com/73lmX.png
    http://i.imgur.com/SZRLB.png
     
  2. tagzard

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Turn the laptop off. Then while it turns on hold f11.
     
  3. RemixDeluxe
    OP

    Member RemixDeluxe GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    3,290
    Country:
    United States
    ^
    is that for both computers or can only one of them do that? Remember I told you I get the same 2 options for each F command unless theres something Im not doing.
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    For some laptops it's F2. Depends on the laptop which key you press to return to factory settings, but this can usually be found inside the manual or sometimes is displayed on the first screen when booting up.
     
  5. Chhotu uttam

    Member Chhotu uttam DOH HO HO HO

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    864
    Location:
    TEH WORLD
    Country:
    India
    If you still have problems with restoring,you can call/take it to the shop from where you bought it [​IMG]
     
  6. Pixxet

    Newcomer Pixxet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Sometimes, and very rarely, you can use System Restore / Recovery and restore your computer to the way it was far before ever installing anything.
    It all depends on how far back your restore points go, for example, you might have a restore point from when the first program was installed onto the computer.
    If the F-Command at startup doesn't work, I'd try using the Recovery tool in the Control Panel.
     

Share This Page