How do i controll another laptop

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by tagzard, Aug 27, 2011.

Aug 27, 2011
  1. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    So this will be interesting,

    My cousin who lives in mexico and uses DSL got a laptop and wants me to controll his laptop from my laptop.
    Here is the thing, he is running WIN7 and i'm running vista.

    So here are my questions:
    Can i controll his WIN7 laptop from my WINvista?
    How do i do it?
    And make sure it's free.
     
  2. XAlexBlitz209X

    Member XAlexBlitz209X GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    United States
    Use Something Called "Team Viewer"
     
  3. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    Turtorial?
     
  4. pspunabletohack

    Member pspunabletohack GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Belgium
  5. Mazor

    Member Mazor Z80 master arch

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2008
    Messages:
    547
    Country:
    Sweden
    There are several solutions with varying benefits.

    It sounds like you just want something easy to set up, and the easiest solution I have seen by far is ShowMyPC. You just download the executable from their site on both machines, click a few buttons and you're good. No tutorial really needed, but just to clarify how easy it is I'll write all the steps:

    [Machine that will be controlled by the other machine]
    1. Open the ShowMyPC executable.
    2. Press the "Show my PC now" button.
    3. Copy paste the password that appears.

    [Machine that will control the other machine]
    1. Open the ShowMyPC executable.
    2. Press the "Show remote PC" button.
    3. Enter the password from the previous step 3.

    This is all.
     
  6. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    http://teamviewer.com/en/download/index.aspx

    You download the full version, all-in-one package and install it. Give him the link and he downloads the Instant Customer: QuickSupport executable. It will relay him an ID & a password which he will give to you. The QS application on his computer installs nothing, its just a single-executable. Open the TeamViewer app you installed earlier and enter in his information. Using a secure connection via TeamViewer's servers, it will give you complete remote desktop connection for absolutely no cost.
     
  7. tagzard
    OP

    Banned tagzard Tagzard the Crazy Dinosaur with Wings.

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,452
    Location:
    Chicago Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    All of this was extremely Helpful. Lock plz
     
  8. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,154
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    inb4 lock, there's also LogMeIn. I've got it set up to control my PC with either my smartphone or my iPad2.
     
  9. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    +1 for Teamviewer. So simple, so effective and can be used for many different applications.
     
  10. Quietlyawesome94

    Member Quietlyawesome94 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,146
    Location:
    The Internet
    Country:
    United States
    I had never even heard of Teamviewer before this thread. Just got done playing around with it and it works great! Thanks guys [​IMG]
     
  11. gbatempfan1

    Member gbatempfan1 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Country:
    I used to use custom scripts with ultravnc, but I saw an add for teamviewer on ultravnc's website a few years ago and have been using it since. I've never used anything free and as simple as there setup before and I wouldn't even know where to find an alternative. Even better is that they support linux(though compiled with winelib or someother wine based compatablility), and allow remote control from andriod and iOS,
     
  12. Thesolcity

    Member Thesolcity Wherever the light shines, it casts a shadow.

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,146
    Location:
    San Miguel
    Country:
    United States
    +1 Team viewer [​IMG]
     
  13. Pixxet

    Newcomer Pixxet Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    New Jersey, USA
    Country:
    United States
    I second this.
    LogMeIn is what I use, and it works fine.
     

Share This Page