1. SleepyDomino

    OP SleepyDomino GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    With PicoDrive getting quite the upgrade, I decided to start using RA. Apparently there's another version besides the official release. Is it better to go with this one?

    I also got curious of some other systems with standalones that I'm currently using, so I'd like to know if anyone who had experience with them can say whether the standalones or RA cores perform better, at least for these:

    TurboGraFX-16/CD (Beetle or... Beetle)
    Atari 2600 (Wii2600 or Stella2014)
    Atari 7800 (Wii7800 or ProSystem)
     
  2. Bagel Le Stinky

    Bagel Le Stinky the bagel bad smell
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2020
    Messages:
    179
    Country:
    Canada
    I think it’s best to set up retroarch so that it’s set up
     
  3. SleepyDomino

    OP SleepyDomino GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    Well now that the topic title itself has been taken care of, let's see if the side missions (the actual post) can be completed as well.
     
  4. Exidous

    Exidous Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I can't comment on most of your options, other than to vaguely whine about Super Breakout controls in Wii2600.

    I can say I'm very pleased with how RA-SNES-next performs as compared to the standalone SNES around here.

    I highly recommend RA-HEXAECO (Superrsonic's version, in that link) where practical. As for regular Retroarch Wii, as you've seen, more recent versions of Retroarch Wii seem to be looked down upon by people here. The MAME (2003+) plugins I use were based on 1.7.6 which is like three years old. The more systems you try to run in RA the more likely it is you'll end up running both the official release and HEXAECO on the same Wii, just don't assume it'll be the newest vanilla RA version.
     
  5. SleepyDomino

    OP SleepyDomino GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I've seen the MAME thing apply to the Switch version as well, with someone uploading older cores that work much better. What I'm afraid of doing is taking a newer vanilla core and replacing one that was remade to work with the Hexaeco RA, though by the looks of it, I'd probably only do so with Picodrive since the latest stable was released after 4/27, and that's basically the reason why I'm trying RA in the first place.

    For Snes9X, Next uses 1.52 just like Snes9xRX, and I've seen RX have better frame rate performance on Kirby's Dream Land 3 compared to GX, so it's not too surprising to know the Next core does so well. I also see Next and 2010 in the Hexaeco release. Next was renamed 2010 at one point, but both have different file sizes so something must be up.

    As for 2600, I take it that Stella lets you play Super Breakout just fine?
     
    rogerioronin likes this.
  6. Exidous

    Exidous Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't tried launching newer cores with HEXAECO, just vanilla RA. I use Wiiflow plugins in my setup so the only real issue is making sure different versions don't break/have incompatible cfg files.

    Honestly the 2600 issue is just that the controls are completely bonkers. Atari has been low priority for me to get working right, it's probably solvable with Wii2600.
     
  7. SleepyDomino

    OP SleepyDomino GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    Most of the cores I wanted to use perform great, so there's no need to worry about the standalones I mentioned earlier. I also decided to just go with the Picodrive that came with the Hexaeco RA, so that's that taken care of too.

    This also taught me about games outputting to a vertical resolution of 448. To fit everything on the screen, I need to change the resolution to that height. A bit annoying, but it gets saved so no worries there.

    The only problematic core I'm trying is Neo Geo VM. The instructions stated to stick the cache folder in RetroArch/System. Hexaeco sticks everything in private/other instead, and finding that is how I got TG-CD games to run, but no such luck here. The reason being, well, look at the first two images I've uploaded. One is the BIOS menu, the other the "Title Screen" of the first Metal Slug. ...Yeah. So I'm not sure if I even have the cache files set up correctly.

    Finally, do I need paths for core options and configurations (3rd pic)?
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Exidous

    Exidous Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    55
    Country:
    United States
    When I tried to get NeoGeo VM working I got a whole lot of green screen and graphical errors, unplayable. The games did boot though. There's discussion of the cache location issue in https://gbatemp.net/threads/the-gre...l-for-adventurers.563575/page-30#post-9475078 and subsequent posts.

    I'm personally ambivalent right now because I'm working with a small SD card size at the moment, but I would like to hear the HEXAECO version has a functional/reliable configuration down the road.

    I haven't had to set them in other HEXAECO cores. One of its huge merits over vanilla RA is that it's already customized/configured for Wii quite well.
     
  9. SleepyDomino

    OP SleepyDomino GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    261
    Country:
    United States
    So the core itself is the problem, meaning I need a second (or different) RetroArch if I want to play those Neo Geo titles. That's a bummer.

    Thanks for letting me know about that, and the path thing.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - RetroArch,