1. Silvestris

    OP Silvestris Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well, maybe a bit double - using an NDS emulator on an NDS flash card -, however there's reasons I'd like to see this.

    For one, the ability to speed up games. Similar to LAMEBOY's function "FAST / FAST TOGGLE".
    For two, ability to save states. Why wouldn't this be useful?
    For three, other powerful functions an emulator can handle. I remember VisualBoyAdvance (GBA Emulator of course) having powerful frame skipping, audio filters, recording managing, etc.
    For four, even more things that makes the emulator more professional. It's like sharkman smoking 10 KG of weed.

    I'd like to hear some more opinions.

    ~Silvestris

    Edit: Dayum, I'm a Newbie on this forum. Or so the user title says.
     
  2. mad567

    mad567 D. Gregar
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    508
    Country:
    Greece
    Like What???

    I really don' see the point of this creation [​IMG]
     
  3. Overlord Nadrian

    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    6,671
    Country:
    Belgium
    This is the weirdest idea I ever heard in my life...
     
  4. Whizz

    Whizz When things don't go right, go left.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Country:
    Netherlands
    At what point did you think of this as a good idea? The DS would have the run the emulator, the game AND the extra features (For three, other powerful functions an emulator can handle. I remember VisualBoyAdvance (GBA Emulator of course) having powerful frame skipping, audio filters, recording managing, etc.). That's impossible. The only reason emulators have these kind of options is because their host machine is much more powerful then the system it's emulating. It's not like that in this case.

    And until someone releases their NDS emulator for the NDS you can play some GBA games on VisualBoyAdvance DS...
     
  5. Tokiopop

    Tokiopop Caffeine fiend
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,833
    Country:
    The DS is not powerful enough to emulate GBA. How can it possibly emulate NDS? And seriously, what's the point?
     
  6. koji2009

    koji2009 GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,193
    Country:
    United States
    Whoever said the DS wasn't powerful enough to emulate the GBA? There is only 1 thing keeping back GBA emulation from the DS, and that's the great data problem.

    The GBA cart actually loads data faster than than the DS slot. There are only two possible solutions to this problem. You have to either...

    A: Have a medium that transfers as fast as a GBA slot (both sequential and random)

    or

    B: Store the entire rom into RAM since RAM will be faster than loading from an external "drive".

    Obviously solution one is pointless on a regular DS... The only other slot is slot 2, and if you have a slot 2 device you can already run a GBA in native mode so emulation is pointless

    #2 doesn't work because the DS only has 4MB of RAM, with the average GBA game being 8 to 16MB, it'd be impossible to fit the entire game into ram and therefore it wouldn't work.

    It'd be pointless to "emulate" the DS on the DS as it'd just be running things 1:1 with a lot of overhead. Patching games to run programs aside it can and already is being done... but to get "frame skip" and "fast forward" you'd have to run the system faster than the game is designed and therefore not possible on the same hardware (aside from physical modifications, which there are a few and are well known enough for anyone to have access to... but aren't a trivial thing to do to a system.
     
  7. Domination

    Domination GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    4,127
    Country:
    Senegal
    This is just nonsense..... Its like trying to kill a dead person who is not a zombie
     
  8. Deleted User

    Deleted User Newbie

    Absolutely. This just doesn't make any sense.
     
  9. unz

    unz Chaotic Neutral
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    284
    Country:
    Antarctica
    ... [​IMG]

    Yo dawg we put a DS in your DS so you can game while you game.

    Yeah I know, and I'm sorry, but somebody had to say it eventually... [​IMG]
     
  10. Rayder

    Rayder Mostly lurking lately....
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,609
    Country:
    United States
    I, personally, am leaving this thread open for sheer comedic value. But, seeing as how this thread is such a joke-fest, I think I'll move it to the appropriate forum.

    Let's go through your points shall we?

    1. Emulating the DS on the DS is NOT going to speed up anything, it will only be slower. MUCH slower. And rather pointless. You will NEVER get any of these imagined benefits you are suggesting using this method.

    2. RTS. (Real-Time Save) A few flashcarts have this. Problem solved.

    3. PC emulation of the DS has a better chance of accomplishing this. The DS barely has enough power for itself, let alone extra features like frame skipping, audio filters, recording managing, etc.

    4. It seems to me that someone already has been smoking way too much weed.
     
  11. Hopawarty

    Hopawarty Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    111
    Country:
    Thats how.
     
  12. MegaAce™

    MegaAce™ Steal back your future.
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,698
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    This is edge of the forum i think.. [​IMG]
    here is everything possible.
     
  13. TrolleyDave

    TrolleyDave Philosolosophising
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Country:
    Large smelly monkies throwing faeces.
     
  14. DarkRey

    DarkRey still transfoooorming.... with sum lags!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2007
    Messages:
    983
    Country:
    Croatia
    CAN WE FIX IT?! YES WE CAN!!
    seriously i think there is a way to emulate ds on a ds because if you look at what they have done with the ps3 emulator for the ds. [​IMG]
     
  15. mucus

    mucus Orc Orc Orc
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    who'd want to play a ds? or even a ps3?
    those are such crap!

    get some jax!
     
  16. Shakraka

    Shakraka GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2007
    Messages:
    722
    Country:
    United States
    Why the fuck would you want to play DS games on a DS? Silliest idea I've ever heard.
     
  17. updowners

    updowners GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,323
    Country:
    United States
    .
     
    Last edited by updowners, Oct 26, 2020
  18. agentgamma

    agentgamma I dont know what to put here
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    876
    Country:
  19. Silvestris

    OP Silvestris Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 10, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Eh, lol @ comments.

    What I meand was, frame skipping to speed up games. Just that, just a function to speed up games. Is that possible?

    Edit: Why so mean? =/
     
  20. mucus

    mucus Orc Orc Orc
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    541
    Country:
    we are terrible people.

    but forget it, it's not happening buddy
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - emulator,