Homebrew Homebrew eShop help

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
Recently I bought Pokemon Y, then learned that I 3ds were Region Locked.
So I used homebrew to play it and successfully I managed to run the game.

However, the only problem I still have is the eshop. Whenever I try to open it, the 3ds freezes with black screen on the top screen and yellow screen at the bottom screen.

I researched about it and these are the things I did.

-I downloaded homebrew (of course) then got the game working at least
http://smealum.github.io/3ds/

-I tried to install payloads, but nothing changed
(maybe because I don't know where to put it)

-I installed the menuhax (version 3.0)
https://github.com/yellows8/3ds_homemenuhax/releases

Here are the informations about my console:
-New 3DS XL (Korean)
-Ver. 11.0.0-29K
-eShop says it has to be under 10.4

How can I manage to get the eShop working?
Should I just wait them until it works with my version?
I would like to avoid downgrade as much as possible because I heard it could damage 3DS alot.

Also, this is my first time trying these kinds of things. So, I might not understand your explanations :P
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,285
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,147
Country
United States
Recently I bought Pokemon Y, then learned that I 3ds were Region Locked.
So I used homebrew to play it and successfully I managed to run the game.

However, the only problem I still have is the eshop. Whenever I try to open it, the 3ds freezes with black screen on the top screen and yellow screen at the bottom screen.

I researched about it and these are the things I did.

-I downloaded homebrew (of course) then got the game working at least
http://smealum.github.io/3ds/

-I tried to install payloads, but nothing changed
(maybe because I don't know where to put it)

-I installed the menuhax (version 3.0)
https://github.com/yellows8/3ds_homemenuhax/releases

Here are the informations about my console:
-New 3DS XL (Korean)
-Ver. 11.0.0-29K
-eShop says it has to be under 10.4

How can I manage to get the eShop working?
Should I just wait them until it works with my version?
I would like to avoid downgrade as much as possible because I heard it could damage 3DS alot.

Also, this is my first time trying these kinds of things. So, I might not understand your explanations :P
Why did you think you needed homebrew to use eshop? If your system is using latest version just go to the eshop normally.
 

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
Well, whenever I try to use it, it freezes and gives me a black screen on top and a yellow screen at the bottom one.

And my eShop says this
11939d82d4c878831487c1e20ce4685a.png

https://gyazo.com/11939d82d4c878831487c1e20ce4685a

And I saw ctr-httpwn too
1d09dc91a3ebfdfab006f0b33e367d72.png

https://gyazo.com/1d09dc91a3ebfdfab006f0b33e367d72
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,285
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,147
Country
United States

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
Why did you think you needed homebrew to use eshop? If your system is using latest version just go to the eshop normally.

Because my 3DS is Korean and at the download section of the game it says "Language: Korean"
Since I don't want my NA version Pokemon Y to be Korean, because I want to be able to use serial code which is region locked too.

I don't know if it will change the base language, but I didn't want to risk it :P
 

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,285
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,147
Country
United States
Because my 3DS is Korean and at the download section of the game it says "Language: Korean"
Since I don't want my NA version Pokemon Y to be Korean, because I want to be able to use serial code which is region locked too.

I don't know if it will change the base language, but I didn't want to risk it :P
Use homebrew to play pokemon, do not use it to load eshop

Also why do you have a korean 3ds if you're from canada? Isn't pokemon game region free default? It supports multiple languages it should be.
 
Last edited by Sonic Angel Knight,

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
Well, I managed to update the game! Thx

But, I'm still unable to use my serial code for the game. Is it because my 3DS is Korean? How can I use it?
 

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
I got the code of Arceus from Pokemon 20th event (Ebgames). I heard these codes were Region Locked too

You can't use it to play online if that what you are trying to do.
What do you mean by "Can't use it to play online"? and my serial code says Wireless broadban Internet access required for online features. Does it mean I can't use the code?
 

KunoichiZ

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2012
Messages
8,830
Trophies
0
Age
26
XP
4,576
Country
United States
I got the code of Arceus from Pokemon 20th event (Ebgames). I heard these codes were Region Locked too


What do you mean by "Can't use it to play online"? and my serial code says Wireless broadban Internet access required for online features. Does it mean I can't use the code?
I'm pretty sure codes are region locked.
 

Clector

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 15, 2016
Messages
1,034
Trophies
0
Location
Not here
XP
409
Country
Bangladesh
Launch eShop from Home Menu not from the Homebrew Launcher eShop app or HANS since as said it don"t work in 10.4 and higher because ASLR was introduced in that version for eShop.
For the codes if is for some event, or something like that it"s from only some regions you can"t use it in another console regions even if the game is Region Free.
 
Last edited by Clector,

Sonic Angel Knight

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 27, 2016
Messages
14,285
Trophies
1
Location
New York
XP
12,147
Country
United States
I see now. YOU CAN'T USE... whatever code you need.

Your system is KOR and needs access to whichever game the region you got it from. SO again WHY do you have the korean system if your canadian?
 

bamsu

Member
OP
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 6, 2016
Messages
11
Trophies
0
Age
24
XP
41
Country
Canada
Launch eShop from Home Menu not from the Homebrew Launcher eShop app or HANS since as said it don"t work in 10.4 and higher because ASLR was introduced in that version in the eShop.
For the codes if is for some event, or something like that it"s from only some regions you can"t use it in another console regions even if the game is Region Free.

Oh... So I can't get these codes working without NA 3DS right? Is there any way to bypass that like region lock of games?
 

Omegadrien

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
1,716
Trophies
0
Location
Pokéland
XP
646
Country
France
Oh... So I can't get these codes working without NA 3DS right? Is there any way to bypass that like region lock of games?
Download the pokémon (.pk6) of the event on the Internet, and inject it in the game with a save manager (PKhex).

edit: oops! misunderstood... If you have a code to "buy" pokémon on the eShop, then.... resell your code on the Internet, and buy the cartridge!
 
Last edited by Omegadrien,

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Turquoise is not a creative color.
    +2
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene, That's true.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @Veho, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B03jxGzEaEg -- you're also not a creative colour.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    do not listen to Veho, this man is clearly on drugs and wants you to eat pixels
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @DinohScene, Judging by the looks of things, yes.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I don't deny that I'm on drugs.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    You honest about that? :creep:
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Someone on drugs would be holding a knife.
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    no, I'm just holding a lighter
    +1
  • DinohScene @ DinohScene:
    trust me, I'm green
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    I can see that you are.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's not easy being green.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I came across yet another one of those "gaming on a $2 laptop" videos and I'm irked, again.
    +1
  • Veho @ Veho:
    This time it's a "budget phone" that costs $99... on a Cyber Monday sale... if you sign a two year contract with the provider... only in America. It's $600 everywhere else.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Well, can't you just select 'Don't recommend channel' so that YT wouldn't keep recommending them?
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Because it's not just one channel doing it.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    It could be just YT in general.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    It's like wack-a-mole, you ignore
    one video and two more pop up.
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    That happens to me A LOT
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Don't know why that is, but it's really annoying
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Had to unsubscribe to some channels, but they keep coming back
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    So I do feel your pain :(
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    The site went down it seems.
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    Been getting unexpected database errors and then BOOM! Cloudfare went down.
    M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ: Been getting unexpected database errors and then BOOM! Cloudfare went down.