Homebrew channel does not start up!

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by xianztan, Aug 1, 2009.

Aug 1, 2009
  1. xianztan
    OP

    Newcomer xianztan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Singapore
    So i was trying to install this wad for a wiiware but i accidentaly pressed the wrong button and uninstalled the cios60.wad i think, so, now when i open up the homebrew channel, it loads and then restarts and i am back at the starting screen.
    How do i get the homebrew channel to boot up again? i tried uninstalling my entire wii and also the homebrew channel and then installing it again but it still restarts without launching the homebrew channel. So is the main probelm because of the cios60.wad? if it is, how do i install it again as i do not have the homebrew channel? I tried the bannerbomb thingy to launch a wadmanager but they gave me some kind of error -1029 i think. my wii is 3.2j btw.
    Thanks for all your time to read this!
     
  2. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    You are so f***ing lucky. If you were on 4.0/4.1 you would have bricked. A full unstoppable brick without bootmii. Anyway, try to reinstall cIOS60 or get the latest version of IOS60 and you should be fine.

    If you have a nand dump with bootmii as a boot 2 replacement, I recommend copying over all your save data to your SD card and going back to that starting point. Never uninstall jack, when dealing with IOS's, using the cIOScorp installer. It works fine, installs any wad (IOS I know for sure), and doesn't do uninstalls.
     
  3. Nago

    Newcomer Nago Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Don't ever use cIOSCorp. I don't care what any tutorial anywhere says, don't do it. It's a stupid idea. I would hope that you (or anyone who continues to mention that frankenstein abonimation of a software) would realize it's a criminally bad idea to overwrite all of the IOSes with a cIOS, but some people need to be told.

    --

    For recovery: Do you have Bootmii installed? It's time to restore your save point from a backup. No? Why didn't you make a backup before you started playing with things you don't understand?

    and for clarification: So your system menu is still working? Upgrade your firmware through nintendo (I know, every guide tells you not to, but throw caution to the wind and let's rock and roll) and then use the BannerBomb exploit to install HBC+BootMii.

    From there, to get softmodding back, run the Trucha Bug Restorer (It's on the GbaTemp forums somewhere, and apparently works even with LU64 Wiis) to restore the Trucha bug, then you can install waninkoko's cIOS, and then you're pretty much all set for now.

    Upgrading in the future: Waninkoko's FW Upgraders + Dop-IOS to upgrade individual IOSes and keep Trucha bug in them.
     
  4. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    If you dont have a hardmod, its a great idea so I can play legal backups. cIOS is safe and good so don't tell people to screw around. Yes, I understand and support Nintendo's position to stop cIOS's from working, but I personally do use them and I still buy games.
     
  5. alcaholjunkie

    Member alcaholjunkie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's an ironic thing to say considering you f*cked up the menu IOS...

    And you completely missed the point of nago's post, for example he used the word "criminally" in a different way to what you perceived it to be. [​IMG] (It's obviously used to emphasize how much of a bad idea it is to overwrite all the IOSes)
     
  6. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I can fix it at any time, I do have Dop IOS and other stuff, essentially a quick NUS downloader.

    And yeah, what a dumb idea to make games work...
     
  7. xianztan
    OP

    Newcomer xianztan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Singapore
    Alright!! thanks people!! homebrew channel worked after upgrading to 4.0j...however, can anyone tell me how to stop getting the error -2011 when installing wads? O.o
     
  8. illinialex24

    Member illinialex24 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 26, 2009
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    The Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    I think you need to run the IOSDowngrader35 and then Patchmii, and then run ciosv9.wad in the WAD Manager.

    That should work.
     
  9. Nago

    Newcomer Nago Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Country:
    United States
    Refer to my original advice post. I generally don't trust "Downgraders" or any all-in-one software, they are bad ideas.

    Search GBATemp for a software called "Trucha Bug Restorer", Perhaps I'm insane, but I trust this one explicitly for restoring the Trucha Bug because I know exactly what it does, and it works on LU64+ Wiis.

    You can run this and Patch your IOS36 with the Trucha Bug, then you run Waninkoko's cIOS rev14 installer. (Or if you have an explicit reason to run an older version of cIOS, you can. I hear tell that Smash Bros doesn't work on R14.)

    Then you're all set to install wads and play backups.
     
  10. xianztan
    OP

    Newcomer xianztan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Singapore
    Alright! Thanks for your help!!
     
  11. ddp127

    Member ddp127 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    449
    Country:
    Netherlands
    there is nothing wrong with iosdowngrader35, it just downloads a old version of ios35 and installs it, i dont understand your problem with it
     

Share This Page