homebrew apps keep freezing

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MaGnUmKiLLa, Nov 16, 2009.

Nov 16, 2009
  1. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    So, here lately, anytime I try to run an app in the homebrew channel, it freezes. I'll click on an app *so far it's been anything from fce ultra to wad manager 1.5* and it'll go to a black screen, my wiimote will disconnect and, I have to unplug my wii. I can turn my wii back on and usually everything after that will run just fine. It doesn't seem to be any big deal at the moment but, it also doesn't sound very good. Like I said, this really just recently started. I've had it freeze a couple of times before but, that was a couple of times over the course of a year as compared to a couple of times within the past week. So, if anyone has had this similiar problem or, knows how I can fix this, I'd really appreciate any help. Thanks guys.
     
  2. Sebas333

    Newcomer Sebas333 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    When my wii was 3.4, It almost never froze with homebrew apps(It didnt that I can remember). When I updated to 4.1 Safely, Sometimes I get a random freeze, Cant launch certain apps or channels for no reason. And with my friend 4.2 wii, almost no apps or channels will load.

    What version is your wii?
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    go to ur homebrew menu, then click the home button, it should tell u what version of homebrew ur running, if its less than 1.06, download the most recent hackmii installer, v0.6 (google 4 it), and use it to reinstall homebrew

    (older version of homebrew used to experience occasional freezing)
     
  4. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    My Wii is 4.1 and, yes, I have the newest version of the HBC. So, what do you think? I've got two guys telling me two seperate things.
     
  5. Sebas333

    Newcomer Sebas333 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    Find newer versions of the apps if you can.
    If not, then I hope it wasnt that important.
     
  6. jpref

    Newcomer jpref Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    76
    Country:
    Canada
    could also be a bad sd card, try another one, or low level format this one. good luck!
     
  7. Sebas333

    Newcomer Sebas333 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Canada
    Probably not the sd card since he can load apps....
     
  8. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, all the apps are up to date. I don't think that would cause this kind of problem anyway. Idk, it could be the sd card. I've been using the same one for quite a bit now and, this is the first time anything has happened that would make me suspect it's going bad. Anybody got anything else?
     
  9. razorback78

    Member razorback78 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,183
    Country:
    Philippines
    no cioscorp?
     
  10. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    no cioscorp
     
  11. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, so I actually just had this happen when I tried to open Everybody Votes. It seems to happen when I click the start button on the channel screen. It's not every single time but, my wii just froze twice in a matter of minutes. Is there any chance it's an ios or something? I've got the cvs report from signcheck if that would help.
     
  12. VashTS

    Member VashTS Beat it, son

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,658
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Country:
    United States
    i had some issues with homebrew, so i updated through nintendo but that was when 4.0 was out so i wouldn't suggest to do this now, but it fixed everything, i used to be on 3.2 and went to 4.0 officially.

    possibly use dop-ios to update ios? i don't know if that is causing it...

    what apps do you have on the sd card? what do you normally run from it? what other files are on your sd? what size and type (microsd or sd?) of card? what brand of card?

    like other guy said, try to reformat the card, using panasonic formatter (its on this sites downloads) and fully format the card.
     
  13. MaGnUmKiLLa
    OP

    Member MaGnUmKiLLa GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2009
    Messages:
    157
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    You haven't read the comments since the beginning have you? It turns out it's totally happening to me whenever I just try to open up any channel at this point.
     

Share This Page