HG/SS on NO$GBA?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by R1kk1, Mar 14, 2010.

Mar 14, 2010

HG/SS on NO$GBA? by R1kk1 at 3:53 PM (12,032 Views / 0 Likes) 25 replies

  1. R1kk1
    OP

    Newcomer R1kk1 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hey guys.

    So I've been trying to set this up, and have so far managed to find the code that allows you to actually get into the game.

    However, people have been saying that they can play it on the NO$ without the game freezing after 24 events. How are they doing this? I'm pretty sure I read about it in one of the larger discussion threads, but it's been lost to a sea of spam.

    If anyone could help me out, that would be fantastic.

    Thanks
     


  2. Necet

    Newcomer Necet Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Sweden
    It was an AR code that only did work on No~
     
  3. Searinox

    Member Searinox Just a taste~ ;3

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,626
    Location:
    NastyBadPlace Pingas: Yes sir!
    Country:
    Romania
    Move to DeSmume it doesn't even need codes nor has graphical errors. Nocash sucks ass bigtime.
     
  4. Hidoshi

    Newcomer Hidoshi Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There's an AP code, and somewhere in the 120+ pages thread there has been a full explanation.
    Something to do with gba compatible mode.
    But yes it does work 100% on no$gba. I just refuse to play handheld games on my pc, so I'm not gonna look into all the pages to find your answer sorry xD
     
  5. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    supposedly the following works
    020DE16C E1A00000
    020D3FA8 E1A00000
     
  6. ambitous21

    Member ambitous21 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    692
    Country:
    United States
    So since this works i'm going to try it out on my pc first
    but how does it work exactly?
    I got the newest NO$GBA emulator, and i opened my soul silver .nds file.
    Opens up fine, but it didnt recognize my save game?
    Although my .sav file is in the same folder, how do I load it?

    and the code up there, I have to put it in cheats right? Do i check the "RAW" or not?
    and is it Code Breaker DS or Action Replay DS?

    sorry.. noob questions..
     
  7. Hakoda

    Member Hakoda GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2008
    Messages:
    2,133
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Country:
    United States
    Open no$gba and hit F2. This will bring up the cheats menu. Click Add New, paste the code, check ActionReplay, & click save. Double click on the box next to the AR logo to activate the code. You have to do this on each boot up of no$gba. If you forget and get a black screen in the game, no worries just activate the code at the black screen and it will fix it without the need of resetting.

    For no$gba to recognize a save, the save must be in the "BATTERY" folder. It must have the same name as the ROM. Then open up no$gba's emulation setting's, (Options --> Emulation Setup) and set the "NDS-Cartridge Backup Media" to your size.
     
  8. YouWish8

    Newcomer YouWish8 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I've just done the following:

    So far I've been able to do 40+ events without a crash, also no blackscreen on startup or AR codes used, ocassional graphic mess ups but just reentering a building usually fixes it (i remeber it also happening sometimes on the JAP rom, need a save file for after the 3rd gym in soul silver to test it more , if anyone can provide ?

    @ambitous the save files for No$gba are in the BATTERY folder, and the codes you make action replay and make sure you tick the box after entering it.

    EDIT: tested with 3rd gym save file, went in and out of a building around 100 times, no crash, so looking like this method works, anyone else wish to test ?

    Edit2: Tested Desmume with 3 save files, one with 0 badges, one with 3 and one with all badges kanto and johto, caused upwards of 100 events not a single crash, no extras added, plus being able to save state makes it viable even if it did crash
     
  9. Dororo

    Newcomer Dororo Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Sweden
    Hello. I can play this game and it runs very nice. I'm playing it on no$gba, ofc. That's why i write in this thread. lol)
    I can save my game, but the problem here is that I can't load my save-files.
    I get the error:
    'A communication error has occurred.

    You will be returned to the title
    screen.
    Please press the A Button.'

    Does anyone know how I can get rid of this error?
    I'm so thankful for every answere i get.
     
  10. Dororo

    Newcomer Dororo Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    Sweden
    Bump!
    I get the same error with the Desmume emulator.
     
  11. KazoWAR

    Member KazoWAR GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2008
    Messages:
    1,748
    Location:
    Winter Haven
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you have the latest version, 0.9.5
     
  12. Marine520

    Newcomer Marine520 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    dude i used the codes and it still randomly freezes with no$gba
     
  13. flatoutvincent

    Newcomer flatoutvincent Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    that code fixes the black screen issues not the freezes or the crashes there's not a fix yet for those. there's many topics about this already
     
  14. ashley_riot

    Newcomer ashley_riot Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Spain
    you still get crashes right? i mean you don't get them as often as every 23 events but you still get them?
    and which emu seems more stable to you so far?
    i just discovered nozoom and i can at least play it (without it i could make it work but only at 55 percent or so.
     
  15. Chase-san

    Member Chase-san GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2008
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    SLAPS SOMEONE REALLY HARD

    Stop using my original OLD OLD CODE

    Use only this one for no$: 020DE16C E1A00000

    The other part was just to catch people trying to steal credit for it.
     
  16. cunmeo2000

    Newcomer cunmeo2000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United States
    so i hv tried this on No$gba several minutes (hours)...

    my problem is i saved it, run around, save, run around save,.... and suddenly it will crash and when i reload it went back to the 1st save when i turn on the machine.

    my question: each time u save the game, should you quit No$gba and turn it on again?
     
  17. oxenh

    Member oxenh The most unknown member of GBAtemp

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    Chile
    after trying all kind of stuffs to play the rom in my ds, i ended switched to the emu using my psp as control XD
    anyway the code probide for chase-san works with no problems
     
  18. Arkansaw

    Member Arkansaw GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    985
    Country:
    East Timor
    for some reason, after starting out with no$ (with the black screen fix) and moving to desmume, I'm no longer getting the freezes. I guess that's good news but I miss the speed ups in no$
     
  19. Twanny Bizzle-Th

    Member Twanny Bizzle-Th GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2009
    Messages:
    282
    Location:
    Somewhere pulling my pants up. I need a belt. :\
    Country:
    United States
    wait, I thought the freezing occurs afters 24+ actions or so? So, it turned from that to 43+ events? that's a good thing, right? I've been watching my brother play hg lately, he used to have alot of freezing when he first started playing, and now he's over to that part where you encounter team rocket for the first time and he hasn't encountered a freeze, since fighting a bird keeper over by falkner's gym. does that means the freeze will be less frequent now?

    on another note: we didn't enter any codes or such, I never even seen the black screen thingy.

    emu he uses: no$gba 2.6v + No$zoom, not zoomer...I think the no$zoom and zoomer automatically encrpyts the rom, right? that why the rom can work without using that encrpyting program on it.
     
  20. I am r4ymond

    Member I am r4ymond PFE

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,703
    Location:
    Ionia
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, there was a 2-line code that bypasses the Black Screen that you get when playing HG/SS on NO$GBA. My friend has been playing HG/SS on NO$GBA for like hour and hours - no freezes yet.

    EDIT: I think it was this AR Code that bypasses the black screen:

    ::Black Screen Bypass Code
    020DD9E4 E1A00000
    020D3820 E1A00000
     

Share This Page