Help with Wiigator's cIOS installer.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Itsuki, Nov 15, 2008.

Nov 15, 2008
  1. Itsuki
    OP

    Newcomer Itsuki Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    Whenever I try to install the cIOS, by pressing A, my Wii freezes, without any error message or anything. If I press B or any other button besides A, it just reboots, as normal. I did a lot of research, but I don't think anyone else is having a problem like me. What do I do?
     
  2. Lafie

    Member Lafie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Have you updated your WII recently, and with that I mean can you now access the Shop Channel (without installing a workaround)? If so, did you have a cIOS already installed (a previous one)? If so, then the problem is most likely with your internet connection. The installer requires internet to download IOS36 to patch. You can also put the IOS36 files on the SD card yourself, and then you don't need internet anymore. Check WiiGator's blog post about 0.3gamma for the files you need to put where on your SD card.
    If you have updated (can access Shop Channel) and you don't have a previous cIOS installed, you have to follow the okt. 23 workaround by a_running-pir8. Look for it in Djtaz's signature or a stickied topic somewhere in this forum.
     
  3. Itsuki
    OP

    Newcomer Itsuki Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    I haven't updated at all, I'm still on 3.2U, but I'll try what you said anyways. Thanks [​IMG].
     
  4. Langin

    Member Langin GBAtemp's kpop addict

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,637
    Location:
    The Hague
    Country:
    Netherlands
    and if it wont load:you have ngc memerycrads in your wii or usb g [​IMG] ecko
     
  5. deshwasi

    Member deshwasi GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    United States
    Itsuki, i was having similar problems last nite on one of my wii's. seemed like it was due to trouble downloading the online files and/or my SD card . i tried a bunch of times and it eventually went thru with a diff SD card. so just keep trying.
     
  6. Itsuki
    OP

    Newcomer Itsuki Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    OMG THANKS! It worked, and you saved my ass! The Memory card was the problem, thanks SO much.
     
  7. yatesl

    Member yatesl GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    134
    Location:
    England
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I love you, man. I can't believe this never occurred to me ... Or the other people I asked.
     
  8. UnlimitedHail

    Newcomer UnlimitedHail Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Good thing I used the Search option, thanks for making my Christmas good again brawler [​IMG]
     
  9. Lubbo

    Member Lubbo GBAtemp Traceur

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2008
    Messages:
    895
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    YOUR A LEGEND!!!! WOOT I HAD SAME PROBLEM
     
  10. vertex67

    Newcomer vertex67 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, i tried taking out the memory cards and using different SD cards, every time i press A, when choosing the ios, my wiiremote disconnects and wont reconnect. The music keeps playing, but its just stuck there and I have to hold down the power button... any help?
     
  11. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    it could be that it wont install because you still have the stub IOS249 installed. Are u on a 4.2 system? Did u delete the IOS249 stub using any title deleter?
     
  12. vertex67

    Newcomer vertex67 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    yes Im on 4.2U (should have mentioned that), i didnt delete anything, I rarely use the HBC because I have a chip and can load from disc channel, but I recently installed some IOS to let me install wads on 4.2
    maybe I should look into this 'title deleter'? will i still be able to install wads with wad manager?
     
  13. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    when u use wad manager, what IOS do u select. If u do not have the cios installed, i assume u are not using ios249... so ur probably using ios36????

    u recently installed some ios? which 1? this thread is discussing wanin's cios 249. Do u mean u recently ATTEMPTED to install ios 249?

    if u never ran the cios installer successfully, then u will either have no ios249, or a stub ios249. If u delete a stub ios u will not change ur system whatsoever. Deleting this stub ios will allow u to install the custom ios via wanin's installer

    long story short, delete ios249 with any title deleter. This ios is not used by the system menu, so deleting it cannot brick u. If u go around deleting other things, u can brick, so be careful. After deleting this ios, install the cios. Now ur all good, and can use ios249 in any app that is capable of using it.
     
  14. vertex67

    Newcomer vertex67 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    thanks for the reply xflak, I think my problem may be rooted deeper than I thought. My wii essentially freezes whenever I try to access an IOS (btw i do have 249 stub). By access I mean in wad manager it asks which IOS to use and press A to continue, no matter which IOS I select my wiiremote disconnects and the wii freezes. I downloaded and ran Any Title Deleter, but I was bombarded with a hoard of error messages within the program. Literally every test it made gave me an error, and after trying to delete ios249 I got an error and it wasnt deleted.

    EDIT: now that I think about it, I dont think I have a stub 249, I updated to 4.2 with zekor's safe firmware updater, and it says in the description that it does not stub any IOSes
    this would mean that I SHOULD be able to start Neogamma doesnt it?
     
  15. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    okay, its starting to sound like you haven't done any homework whatsoever.

    Did u use the trucha bug restorer?

    Zektor's safe updator will not stub your ios's, but it wont "update" any stubs either. So if u had a ios249 stub before updating, u will still have the stub after updating.

    if u never installed the cios, and ios249 is an option in wad manager, then it is a stub for sure 100%.

    U need to use trucha bug restorer 1.1 (if ur on 4.2, otherwise use 1.0) to restore the trucha bug in ios36. Then u can use any title deleter to delete IOS249 stub (try any title deleter DB, or any title deleter MOD, if it asks what IOS to use, use IOS36). Then u can install wanin's cios 249.

    more details on how to do all this can be found in xzxero's stickied guide ("Modify any wii 4.2 and below").
     
  16. knifen

    Newcomer knifen Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Mexico
    The memory card was th problem, thanks so much
     

Share This Page