HELP!!! WiiGator cIOS Installer

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Bobmeister, Mar 30, 2009.

Mar 30, 2009
  1. Bobmeister
    OP

    Newcomer Bobmeister Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I've done just about every combination of...everything to try to get this to work.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OJce0pM0rXg

    That is a vid of the exact problem I'm having and I would really like some help figuring out why it won't let me install the cIOS!!!

    Or at least some ideas...or SOMETHING...*pulling hair out* I've looked on basically every forum that covers this and I follow all their "n00b-proof" instructions, but it still doesnt work...
     
  2. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    -1017 == Trucha bug missing

    You are not at 3.2, you only have the 3.2 system menu. Search how to proper downgrade, you WILL be able to find everything here you need, now you know what the problem is.
     
  3. Bobmeister
    OP

    Newcomer Bobmeister Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I used Custom IOS Downgrader v1.2 by Waninkoko, and I downgraded to:

    "Wii Firmware 3.2U [SysMenu v30 - IOS289 v1039 - MIOS v5 - BC v2"

    was the exact wording of the option I chose.

    Im going to start searching for "proper" downgrading, but could you expand on "proper", or throw some links...? Thanks for diagnosing, though!!! [​IMG]
     
  4. Bobmeister
    OP

    Newcomer Bobmeister Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United States
    Got it working! Thanks a ton!!!!!

    Lesson Learned: cIOS and IOS are NOT the same thing. When downgrading, one must downgrade BOTH of these cause the IOS downgrade is the one that gives you Trucha bug.
     
  5. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    IOS and cIOS are two different things, of course. cIOS == cutom IOS. What you meant is that there's a difference between IOS and cIOS downgrader. But don't be disturbed these are only names, the cIOS downgrader doesn't downgrade the cIOS.
     
  6. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States
    It uses cIOS to downgrade, correct?

    Kind of like how a vacuum cleaner doesn't clean a vacuum...

    kind of...

    Well what I guess I'm trying to say is that in "cIOS downgrader", cIOS is an adjective and in "IOS downgrader", IOS is a noun.

    (Actually I can still see a problem with calling the cIOS in cIOS downgrader an adjective but it really doesn't matter)
     
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If i'm honest i'm not sure what these programs do exactly, but after running BOTH, the IOS from the system menu (IOS30), IOS36 and some other IOS are downgraded.(but not all!)
     
  8. BlackEnigma

    Member BlackEnigma GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2009
    Messages:
    342
    Country:
    United States

    Thanks for the clarification.
     

Share This Page