Help R4 trouble!

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Knutsfordgal, Sep 5, 2011.

Sep 5, 2011

Help R4 trouble! by Knutsfordgal at 6:27 AM (1,523 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. Knutsfordgal
    OP

    Newcomer Knutsfordgal Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Downloaded ds games and R4 stuff onto 2gb disk and put into R4.(as instructed on web site)
    Followed Ds instruction and stupidly updated DS while disk inside.
    Now Ds won't recognise R4. Tried on her brothers DS and won't recognise on there either. What can I do to fix this. The kids have waited weeks for this and now ....
    Please help. Thanks
     
  2. zygie

    Member zygie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    Philippines
    First off, this should be under NDS > Flashcarts > R4 or whatever.

    1) Now what exactly is your "R4" flashcart? There are tons of R4 clones out there.
    Is it R4 DS?
    R4 SDHC?
    R4i Gold?
    ...etc.

    2) What are the two DS's you tested on? Phat? DS Lite? DSi/XL?
     
  3. jp2002parry

    Newcomer jp2002parry Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i am in the same boat as you i have a child crying ,Mine is that he updated his dsi xl to 1.4.3 and his r4 sdhc card isnt working now arrrggghhh
     
  4. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    My friend brought me an R4 NDS NDSL and Wood 1.36 just gets stuck on the black "Nintendo'" screen. Worse is I don't know which colne this might be because the sticker was peeled off. -____- How can I know?
     
  5. Wizerzak

    Member Wizerzak Because I'm a potato!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    2,784
    Location:
    United Kingdom
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Wow, 3 questions in 1 thread. It saves space I suppose. Anyway:

    Does it boot into the Wood menu ok?

    If it doesn't then Wood is either incompatible with that card or you are using an updated DSi with an outdated version of Wood. (well, there are more possibilities but those are most common)

    If it does boot into Wood but freezes when loading the games then there are a number of possibilities. What game are you trying? It might have AP protection. If it happens with all games then try formatting the SD card (after backing up of course), replacing the files, and try again.
    Or you may possibly have a faulty connection, with either the flashcard or the SD card (flashcard is most likely with connection issues).
     
  6. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    It doesnt boot into any menu. It gets stuck at a screen that reads " Nintendo' ".
    I'm running this on a DSL. No not a DSi... I clearly stated it doesn't support DSi?
    The SD Card is a 2GB SanDisk (not SDHC as far as i can see)
     
  7. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    FYI, 4GB+ are SDHC -- although if you really hunt around you can find a 4gb that wasn't sdhc (some what rare now).

    -another world
     
  8. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    hmm he doesnt know... it's kind of his deceased cousin's and he gave it to me as he got it without sticker.
    here are the shots
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    and yes that is a very manly unicorn in the background
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    thats not an ak rpg, its not an r4i gold.cn (they have a red pcb), i don't own the r4idsn but i think its also a red pcb.

    i'm looking at my original r4 the micro sd slot cutout doesn't match.

    i'm guessing you have an r4 sdhc or one of the other r4's that got a hardware upgrade. wood won't work with it. its next to impossible to tell what r4 you have unless you provide very clear photos of the PCB. if you take out that tiny screw on the back the two halves of the shell will pull apart rather easily. take a shot of the front and back of the PCB and someone might be able to figure out what r4 it is. once you know what one it is you should be able to find its kernel.

    -another world
     
  10. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    here are the PCB pics, now that i open it it seems... unfamiliar

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  11. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    is that a chance that you could take some high quality (high resolution) photos of the front? i would like to be able to read the finest detail. i will then compare it to the r4 cards i have. i will then be able to tell you if its the original or 1:1 reissue.

    this might help:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    -another world
     
  12. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    thats about as clear as i can get. my camera is kinda not here

    nothing to read, really. jus the "POP" at the bottom there.

    ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ELSE
     
  13. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    yea, its not a real r4. its a clone of some kind or perhaps a different card entirely. i'm not 100% sure. hopefully someone else will know exctly what it is and what kernel runs on it.

    -another world
     
  14. DroRox

    Member DroRox Ambassador of Ooo

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2011
    Messages:
    387
    Location:
    The Land of Ooo
    Country:
    United States
    Well I didn't expect much from his cousin... I'm sure he bought it at the weekly flea market in Colombia where I'm from and where he lived before he moved here.
     
  15. mewtwomaster3

    Newcomer mewtwomaster3 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States

Share This Page