Help please

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by megamanx11o, Nov 25, 2008.

Nov 25, 2008

Help please by megamanx11o at 10:13 AM (1,380 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. megamanx11o
    OP

    Newcomer megamanx11o Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I am using Backup Launcher 0.3 gamma. I have burnt a few games and they have worked but some don't. I use DVD-Rs. When I try to load CoD: WaW PAL version, everything works but the screen constantly jumps. I can't see a thing. Another game I have problems with is a Zelda: Twilight Princess PAL version. It does the same thing. It loads but once it starts, the screen is moving downwards constantly. I used a DVD+R for Zelda. I'm not sure if it's a bad burn but I've burned my other games the same way and they work. Can someone help me fixed this problem?
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Not that its necessarily the cause, but why are you using PAL backups on your NTSC wii?
     
  3. megamanx11o
    OP

    Newcomer megamanx11o Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    The PAL versions have more seeds. =P
     
  4. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    just to let you know PAL an d NTSC are also uncompatible video standards, you will likely have video problems if the launcher fail to handle this properly or if you did not force the video mode to NTSC

    badly burned DVD does not make the screen "jumping"
     
  5. megamanx11o
    OP

    Newcomer megamanx11o Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Will forcing the video to NTSC work?
     
  6. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    try it, best way to learn
     
  7. megamanx11o
    OP

    Newcomer megamanx11o Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Got it to work. Thanks =D

    Ok, i got CoD to work. Zelda gives me a green screen. Any help there?
     
  8. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    what type of cable do you use ?

    green screen generally means that YUV/RGB decoding are messed up... and that the wrong video mode has been configured
     
  9. megamanx11o
    OP

    Newcomer megamanx11o Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I read here: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=118061 that green screen is region error.

    Ok, ran into an error on CoD. When I got to the first scene, a black screen came up saying unable to read disc or something like that. Anyone help?
     
  10. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    let me guess, you booted the "backup" without loading an original once first ?

    this won't work, you need to run the original once to devitalize the Wii security system with demodulation patches
     
  11. shinygerbil

    Newcomer shinygerbil Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You also say you used a DVD+R to burn Zelda. Did you set the booktype correctly?
     
  12. herculean1982

    Newcomer herculean1982 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    88
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    hilarious?
     
  13. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
  14. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    I have CoD:WaW PAL and I don't have any problem, if the error occurred after load the Game correctly, then it is a bad burn, no doubt about it, it happened to me and believe me I tryed 3 or 4 brands before I got to this conclusion:

    1st class DVD + New Burner (3 years or less) = Burn at the speed written on the DVD, 16X
    2nd class DVD + New Burner = Burn at half the speed, 8X
    3rd class DVD + New Burner = Go back to the store and buy a pack of 1st class DVD, you cheap ba....
    1st class DVD + Old Burner = Burn at half the speed, 8X
    2nd class DVD + Old Burner = Get some money and buy a new burner...!! [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  15. kimikal27

    Member kimikal27 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Galway
    Country:
    Ireland
  16. seb77

    Newcomer seb77 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Location:
    Quebec
    Country:
    Canada
    Buy YUV/RGB cables (10$) to play forced PAL games on a NTSC Tv, if Force to NTSC is not working and give you a green screen.

    It works for me. Believe me.

    I have TRauma center: New Blood PAL running on a NTSC-U Wii.

    With my old cable (the one that comes with the console) the image was black and white on force pal60, is flickering and B/W on force pal and i was getting a green screen on force ntsc.

    With the RGB cables no more B/W problem with "Force PAl60" on
     

Share This Page