Help on running Gamecube DVD-Rson Wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Phazon UK, May 18, 2011.

May 18, 2011
  1. Phazon UK
    OP

    Newcomer Phazon UK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I just used ModMii to mod my Wii and followed all the instructions correctly, Homebrew Channel working and everything. I then followed a guide on the internet to be able to play GC games on my Wii. I installed NeoGamma and installed a cMIOS with the help of a Windows program called NUS Downloader (i think).
    Now then, that instructed me to make a v4 or v10 cMIOS. The v4 kept failing to download so I just used v10. I then ran WiiGators app on the Wii in order to enable NeoGamma to launch GC DVD-Rs. Problem is, it would only look for the v4 cMIOS and not the v10, so it kept failing.

    So, I googled the name of the v4 cMIOS I needed and downloaded one. Put that on my SD card, NeoGamma found it ok and said it installed it successfully. So, I then put my F Zero FX DVD into the Wii, launch the NeoGamma app and try to launch the game using the top option. Screen goes blank, flickers a bit and then the Wii just restarts.

    This is the first time I have modded a Wii and I only did it a few hours so I'm not entirely sure if I'm doing things right, so any help would be nice.
     
  2. Nujui

    Member Nujui I need something to do.

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3,933
    Location:
    Dreamland.
    Country:
    United States
    Did you use the lastest modmii? Then that one would defeat the purpose as it gets rid of DVDX, which is needed to run backup disc.

    But one question, do you know if your wii is able to run dvds? Some can't.
     
  3. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    Can you please install the recommend cMIOS from here:
    http://gbatemp.net/t219243-neogamma-r9-beta-test

    And use the latest version of NeoGamma?

    I'm not convinced that you have a cMIOS installed. Or maybe you have one and are using an old NeoGamma that would require you to use a different cMIOS. The recommend cMIOS from the NeoGamma thread will only allow you to play GC backups from the NeoGamma R9 betas. (or Swiss...)
     
  4. Phazon UK
    OP

    Newcomer Phazon UK Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Found out my Wii has a D3-2 drive. So does that mean I'm sh*t out of luck on running GC backups?
     
  5. brausm08

    Member brausm08 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    721
    Location:
    USA - Midwest
    Country:
    United States
    from discs, yes....

    but you could give SWISS a try... you'll need an SD Gecko, but you can pick one up cheap (
     
  6. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can always run original discs.
     
  7. Tonitonichopchop

    Member Tonitonichopchop GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,210
    Country:
    United States
    You should be able to buy Gamecube games pretty cheap now. If that isn't something you want, try Swiss or Wode. Swiss is cheap, but has issues, and Wode is near perfect, but is more expensive, so the choice is yours.
     

Share This Page