Homebrew Help designing a Offical GameCube icon :)

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
nintendo-mobile-app-recovery-3ds-9.jpg


Trying the design a official looking gamecube icon that loads into usb loader GX but so far nothing looks quite right imo so just wondering if anyone has a high quality 128 x 128 gamecube icon there willing to share :)
 

RareKirby

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
563
Trophies
1
XP
921
Country
United States
I can make you an icon but nothing looks high qaulity in 128 x128, looks like me and you are doing similar stuff, can you help me? My last Wii U broke so I don't have usb loader gx or nintendon't anymore, I can get it back but I kinda don't want to? Is there a way to load up nintendon't and usb loadergx through wii u channel? Like, I know how to put gamecube and wii games on Wii U menu but I have to create icons for each games and I have over 500 games and I don't want to make icons for each lol, Can you help? Is there a way to just run the games?
 

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
I can make you an icon but nothing looks high qaulity in 128 x128, looks like me and you are doing similar stuff, can you help me? My last Wii U broke so I don't have usb loader gx or nintendon't anymore, I can get it back but I kinda don't want to? Is there a way to load up nintendon't and usb loadergx through wii u channel? Like, I know how to put gamecube and wii games on Wii U menu but I have to create icons for each games and I have over 500 games and I don't want to make icons for each lol, Can you help? Is there a way to just run the games?

you can load into nintendont very easy from the wii u menu but if im right in my understanding USB loader still needs to be set up on the vwii and the files installed on the SD card ect....first install a fowarder on the vwii then a wii u fowarder and your all set :) tbh i think iv sorted my problem out so will upload my pack and you can try it for your self
 

RareKirby

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
563
Trophies
1
XP
921
Country
United States
you can load into nintendont very easy from the wii u menu but if im right in my understanding USB loader still needs to be set up on the vwii and the files installed on the SD card ect....first install a fowarder on the vwii then a wii u fowarder and your all set :) tbh i think iv sorted my problem out so will upload my pack and you can try it for your self


awesome! So you don't need that icon?
 

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
by all means if you can make a nice icon that would be great as im still having a mess about at the mo (have major OCD haha)
 

RareKirby

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2011
Messages
563
Trophies
1
XP
921
Country
United States
someone beat me to it, so you'll have a pack so I can go to nintendon't through Wii U menu? I Can use my gamepad and pro controller right?
 

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
theres already a nintendont fowarder on the wii u usb helper just download it off there :) im just making a usb loader forwarder as i always use GC games using a wavebird....
 

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
USB loader looks loads better and has better cheat support ect and as i have kids the cheat support is just to good to just to boot directly into nintendont and run the game i was using wiiu2hbc forwarder but for the life of me i carnt replace the TGA files via ftp in order to add my own icon ect as i always get a ??? icon and app refuses to load :(

edit....all games are installed to SD as wiivc injector will not run anything via usb it seems
 
Last edited by froggydarren,

SirNapkin1334

Renound Aritst
Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2017
Messages
1,665
Trophies
0
XP
964
Country
United States
USB loader looks loads better and has better cheat support ect and as i have kids the cheat support is just to good to just to boot directly into nintendont and run the game i was using wiiu2hbc forwarder but for the life of me i carnt replace the TGA files via ftp in order to add my own icon ect as i always get a ??? icon and app refuses to load :(

edit....all games are installed to SD as wiivc injector will not run anything via usb it seems
Editing stuff after installation breaks it for some reason. You will have to change the icon, then encrypt and install the channel.
 

Zaweet

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 12, 2013
Messages
34
Trophies
0
Location
Montreal, Quebec
XP
289
Country
Canada
USB loader looks loads better and has better cheat support ect and as i have kids the cheat support is just to good to just to boot directly into nintendont and run the game i was using wiiu2hbc forwarder but for the life of me i carnt replace the TGA files via ftp in order to add my own icon ect as i always get a ??? icon and app refuses to load :(

edit....all games are installed to SD as wiivc injector will not run anything via usb it seems
The tga files need to have a 32 bit depth and be uncompressed. Also be sure that "..TRUEVISION-XFILE.." in hex is at the end of the file. You can use this program to verify the image is correct https://gbatemp.net/threads/tgaverifiy-a-tga-verifier.450997/

If you're using python 3 feel free to use my (sloppy) conversion of his app
Code:
import struct
import msvcrt as m
import os

def wait():
    m.getch()
   
def readByte(file):
    return struct.unpack("B", file.read(1))[0]

def readu16le(file):
    return struct.unpack("<H", file.read(2))[0]

def readu32le(file):
    return struct.unpack("<I", file.read(4))[0]


tgas = ["iconTex.tga","bootLogoTex.tga","bootDrcTex.tga","bootTvTex.tga"]
dimensions = [[128,128,32],[170,42,32],[854,480,24],[1280,720,24]]
for i in range(len(tgas)):
    tga = tgas[i]
    dimension = dimensions[i]
    if os.path.exists(tga):
        with open(tga,"rb+") as f:
            header = readu32le(f)
            if header != 0x00020000:
                print (tga + "is compressed. it cant be compressed!")
                break
            f.seek(12)
            actDimensions = [readu16le(f),readu16le(f),readByte(f)]
            hasHadBadDiment = False
            for j in range(len(actDimensions)):
                if j == 0:
                    type = "width"
                elif j == 1:
                    type = "height"
                else:
                    type = "depth"
                diment = dimension[j]
                actDiment = actDimensions[j]
                if diment != actDiment:
                    if not hasHadBadDiment:
                        hasHadBadDiment = True
                        print ("dimensions are not valid for: " + tga)
                    print (type + " is: " + str(actDiment) + " should be: " + str(diment))
            if hasHadBadDiment:
                break
            f.seek(1,1)
            f.seek(int(actDimensions[0]*actDimensions[1]*(actDimensions[2]/8)),1)
            f.write(b"\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00\x00TRUEVISION-XFILE\x2E\x00")
    else:
        print (tga + " could not be found!")
print ("All TGA's verified!")
print ("press any key to exit...")
#todo verifiy bootovie.h264
wait()
 

Attachments

  • iconTex.zip
    10.1 KB · Views: 136
Last edited by Zaweet,
  • Like
Reactions: froggydarren

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
tryed everything but alas can not get the icon to work haha heres the icons im trying to convert if anyone could lend me a hand :)
gamecube-wallpaper-8_zpsbbaz8psy.jpg
 

Attachments

  • gamecube-wallpaper-8.jpg
    gamecube-wallpaper-8.jpg
    51.6 KB · Views: 517
  • iconTex.png
    iconTex.png
    1.6 KB · Views: 294
Last edited by froggydarren,

JacobM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
239
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
United States
small snag :( got the app to load usb loader up but once i pick a GC game it shows a nintendont error so i guess i cant boot nintendont within usb loader??? using wiivc injector...

Can you try unplugging your Wii U GameCube adapter before loading USB Loader GX? Make sure you have the latest Nintendont installed. I had the same issue with a similar setup and replugging in the adapter after the GameCube game loaded allows everything to work.

You can find my original post detailing the issue in the USB Loader GX thread:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1227#post-7664935

IF this is the same issue, do you mind posting in the USB Loader GX thread? I have been the only one to report this bug so far.

Thanks!
 

JacobM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
239
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
United States
small snag :( got the app to load usb loader up but once i pick a GC game it shows a nintendont error so i guess i cant boot nintendont within usb loader??? using wiivc injector...

Can you try unplugging your Wii U GameCube adapter before loading USB Loader GX? Make sure you have the latest Nintendont installed. I had the same issue with a similar setup and replugging in the adapter after the GameCube game loaded allows everything to work.

You can find my original post detailing the issue in the USB Loader GX thread:
https://gbatemp.net/threads/usb-loader-gx.149922/page-1227#post-7664935

IF this is the same issue, do you mind posting in the USB Loader GX thread? I have been the only one to report this bug so far.

Thanks!
 

froggydarren

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2015
Messages
215
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
205
Country
i will have alook at that thread now the crash isnt a straight hardlock as it gives me a error regarding a a ios fail then gives me a rough idea why (nintendont failed to load) then gives me 10 seconds before it reboots but it just crashes thus needing a unplug :(
 

JacobM

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jun 16, 2017
Messages
239
Trophies
0
XP
550
Country
United States
i will have alook at that thread now the crash isnt a straight hardlock as it gives me a error regarding a a ios fail then gives me a rough idea why (nintendont failed to load) then gives me 10 seconds before it reboots but it just crashes thus needing a unplug :(

Ah! Take some pictures of the error page. Try loading Nintendont from within USB Loader GX by using the built in homebrew launcher (icon is in the lower right corner immediately left of the "Wii" button)
 

You may also like...

General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The wolf tried eating her but failed
    +1
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    God help us all
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    *little red riding hood grabs the shotgun*
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Well shit my ring camera needs charged I wonder what was stolen from me
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Just opened 10 youtube tabs on my phone in chrome. Not even half of half of 600MB. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Which phone do you have
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    a nearly 6 yr old moto g5 plus
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Not saying its not happening for you. Your image is right there. I just dont know why yours is so high and mine is so low. :)
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    It could be other factors high ram refresh rate etc
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    know a good app to double check? perhaps my phones own memory usage stats is full of shit. lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Samsung UI is probably a ram hog as it is
  • RedColoredStars @ RedColoredStars:
    Yeah. Could be a number of things. My old ass phone has a custom rom on it too so a lot of the bloat is gone, and its not using the moto UI
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    @K3N1, I'm using an XCover 5
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    re youtube on phones. Newpipe is the way
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    3x playback speed and no adverts plus whole load of other things.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Until it gets a lawsuit notice
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    Not sure what path they would use for this one
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    On a different note entirely I randomly ended up on a hardware mods website. Lot of stuff for the GBA and DS it seems that I had missed entirely.
  • FAST6191 @ FAST6191:
    as well as the option to pay $2 for a surface mount standard fuse
  • Oleboy555 @ Oleboy555:
    i use re vanced
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    VPN YouTube premium $15 a year with a Turkey connection lol
  • M4x1mumReZ @ M4x1mumReZ:
    D, E, F, G...
    K3N1 @ K3N1: