1. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Hi everybody !
    I tried since two days to run Carmageddon on the switch. So I have try the DOS version with retroarch - dosbox, but he ask to me to write the password, and I can't find a solution to write in dosbox.

    So I have try the playstation version, I have try 3 different roms, all start very well, but when I start a race, it stay blocked on the loading screen. And retroarch look like crashing...

    And so I really don't know how I can have carmageddon on my switch... Any idea to fix my problem ? ^^

    Or can we write in the dosbox emulator? If yes I will can launch the dos game version, because I stay block when he ask to me the password, I can't write in dosbox :/

    Thanks ! ^_^
     
    Last edited by Mc_Burt, May 23, 2020
  2. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    704
    Country:
    Russia
    Firstly, there's RetroArch specific thread. There's no reason to create a new thread for solving a problem with emulating your favorite game. I'm just saving you time here... Either post your problem to RA thread or better ask ppl on RetroNX discord.

    p.s. I've just tested ps1 version in RA and it works flawlessly. You either have a bad dump or something is wrong with your RA configs. Update everything (RA, cores, atmos), reset RA configs and get a new rom somewhere. Launch RA through title redirection and everything should work.
     
    Last edited by bad361, May 23, 2020
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  3. oriongrant

    oriongrant Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Install android, that has a really solid carma port.
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  4. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Ok sorry for the post ! ^^
    And thank you for your anwsers I will check that.
    I have re-install atmosphere, retroarch and core, but it still bug at the loading screen and retroarch crash so I don't know what to do.
    But thanks you for your time and tried to help me ! :)
     
  5. Mythical

    Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,828
    Country:
    United States
    Make sure you have the necessary bios files as well and that the config is pointing to them
     
  6. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Hey you are right ! Retroarch said when I launch the game, it miss the bios, maybe it from here the problem. I am a noob in retroarch and hacking switch, can you help me to fix this problem ? Did I need to upload some files in the retroarch folder?
    In any case thank you for this clue!
     
    Mythical likes this.
  7. bad361

    bad361 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2018
    Messages:
    704
    Country:
    Russia
    https://docs.libretro.com/library/pcsx_rearmed/
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  8. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,009
    Country:
    Japan
    The N64 version also works for people who hate themselves.
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  9. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Thank you very much !!! I have upload bios and now everything work very well !!! THANK YOU !!! :)

    Ahahahaah never ^^
     
  10. Mythical

    Mythical GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2017
    Messages:
    1,828
    Country:
    United States
    Glad you got it to work! Bios/bios path is usually what causes emulator problems
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  11. oriongrant

    oriongrant Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Psx version is also shit

    Sent from my MI MAX 3 using Tapatalk
     
  12. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Which version do you recommend to play on the switch?
     
  13. sj33

    sj33 GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    4,009
    Country:
    Japan
    I think PS1 is still your next bet by default.
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  14. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,065
    Country:
    Australia
    I tried for weeks to get the dosbox version to work, got like 2fps and lines all over the screen but hey I started a race

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    2019032316425100-6CF3D73B21F776032F8CCD9728DF9C68.jpg
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  15. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    At least you managed to launch the game! :lol:
    I was stuck on "entering the password for the unCut version" and impossible to write anything on dosbox ...
    Can you write on Dosbox Switch?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I would loved so much play this version on my switch ahahaah. so many childhood memories :wub:
     
  16. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,065
    Country:
    Australia
    But yeah, I settled for buying it off the Android store and playing that on Switch
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
  17. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Thanks I willl try that !
     
  18. Milenko

    Milenko GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2017
    Messages:
    2,065
    Country:
    Australia
    And yeah you can map keyboard keys to buttons in retroarch
     
  19. Mc_Burt

    OP Mc_Burt Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2019
    Messages:
    46
    Country:
    France
    Yeah I have try but I don't understand how to put the keyboard on it

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    do you have a link wich explain how install android on switch, please ?
     
  20. oriongrant

    oriongrant Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2019
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Android has the best port for sure, its very faithful to the original PC version. Psx and n64 ports (if you can call them that) are very clunky and have heavy censoring.
     
    Mc_Burt likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - [help]Carmageddon, retroarch, solution