Heavy Rain

Discussion in 'PS3 - Hacking & Homebrew' started by scottieb99, Mar 1, 2011.

Mar 1, 2011

Heavy Rain by scottieb99 at 3:00 AM (2,264 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. scottieb99
    OP

    Member scottieb99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Been reading tons of stories on google about this game, anyone know how to get this game running from internal hdd? I have tried multiman, rogero and gaia with the same black screen result. Any help is appreciated.
     
  2. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    you can play it from external, using multiman, highlight the game in multiman, press select and x, and pick it from the xmb. make sure you have a PS3 game in the drive.....
     
  3. synce

    Member synce だいこんちゃんのだいふぁん

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    487
    Country:
    United States
    Internal works fine too, you just need a PS3 disc in the drive (some games require it)
     
  4. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,151
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Doesn't Heavy Rain have a file bigger than 4GB?
     
  5. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    open split will fix it.
     
  6. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany
    You can also use the newest version of multiMan with ntfs support nd install it without splitting any files from any ntfs device.
     
  7. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    As far as I know it actually doesn't.
     
  8. ut2k4master

    Member ut2k4master Lord Tourettes

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    heavy rain does NOT have a file bigger than 4gb, so just put it on an external hdd and start it with multiman (select + x).
    but you need to install the game first with the original game disc or it wont start.
     
  9. Sotoro

    Member Sotoro GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2008
    Messages:
    404
    Country:
    Germany
    - heavy rain is not a black screen game, so there is no need of the select+x mode
    - you can install the game data without the original heavy rain game disc, there isn't a single game that requires this method on kmeaw 3.55...
     
  10. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Not for me. It installs from the backup just fine.
     
  11. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,407
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    Kmeaw or any other ofw/cfw. I'm on 3.41 and every games I tried worked fine (I don't have heavy rain to test though).

    It's even often recommended to delete already installed game data and reinstall using the backup'ed game. I don't know if it really makes a difference, but it seems some games require it, not the contrary.
     
  12. scottieb99
    OP

    Member scottieb99 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    163
    Country:
    United States
    Putting a disc on the drive seems to get it working for me.
     
  13. aml435

    Member aml435 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    United States
    I had an impossible time getting this and a few others to work from internal, and it turned out that my games were in a folder titled /GAMEZ/ on the internal hard drive. They would all show up in the back up managers, but they all would black screen. I tried repairing permissions, I tried original rips of my own discs and downloaded rips, nothing would work.
    Then I moved them all to a directory called /GAMES/ on the internal and repaired permissions and suddenly all of my black screening internal games worked flawlessly.
    Can't promise the same will work for you, but it did for me.
     
  14. ut2k4master

    Member ut2k4master Lord Tourettes

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2010
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Germany
    well, the backup of heavy rain didnt work for me without first installing from the original disc. (got a black screen first)
    and select+x doesnt hurt, so it doesnt matter if you do it or not in that case [​IMG]
     

Share This Page