Hacking HBC :)

Nemesis90

Trophies
XP
Country
United States
So i've never used smash stack before, does the 24hr wait still apply with the smash service being offline now?

SifJar

Not a pirate
Trophies
Website
Visit site
XP
Country
Very nice.

Does this mean that any apps on the SD card will have AHBPROT settings?
AHBPROT is disabled for apps loaded through HBC, yes. But note that vIOS have added protections, meaning stuff like patched IOS cannot be installed, even with AHBPROT (at least, not without additional IOS runtime patching). Also note that this is not a bad thing; there's a reason TT removed all apps that patch IOS from WiiBrew.

But yes, apps that use AHBPROT (but that don't use it to install permanently patched IOS) should work.

Cool. Now lemme know when Riivolution and WAD installers work and all will be right with the otherwise uselessness of vWii.
Riivolution has already been updated to work in a private build, it just hasn't been made public yet (probably undergoing testing etc. before public release). Note that tueidj, who provided the IOS exploit for the new HackMii Installer, is part of the team behind Riivolution, so it's quite possible it'll use the same exploit when updated. (Rather than wasting two holes).

As for WAD installers; well I don't really care too much about them. Maybe if there's one that uses AHBPROT it'd already work (although not for installing IOS or SM; vIOS block installation of those).

Wiiman10

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
What does this all mean as of right now? Will we be able to use usb loaders and homebrew in wii mode, in the near future?

Cyan

GBATemp's lurking knight
Former Staff
Trophies
XP
Country
France
you can use some USB Loaders (such as Wiiflow mod which updated to use vWii) but not to play Wii games. You can use it for emulators frontend, or launch retail/imported Wii game disc.
You can't play Wii games from iso/wbfs, which require cIOS to redirect drive access.

JoostinOnline