HBC :)

Discussion in 'Wii U - Hacking & Backup Loaders' started by mike333, Dec 7, 2012.

Dec 7, 2012

HBC :) by mike333 at 8:30 PM (7,046 Views / 0 Likes) 43 replies

1. mike333
    OP

Member mike333 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

Poland

2. icebrg5

Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

United States
    awesome

3. Taleweaver

Member Taleweaver Storywriter

Belgium
    Very nice.

Does this mean that any apps on the SD card will have AHBPROT settings?

4. TobiasAmaranth

Member TobiasAmaranth GBAtemp Regular

United States
    Cool. Now lemme know when Riivolution and WAD installers work and all will be right with the otherwise uselessness of vWii.

5. gamecaptor

Member gamecaptor R.I.P. Densetsu. Legends never die!

United States
    Interesting....

6. Nemesis90

Member Nemesis90 GBAtemp Regular

United States
    So i've never used smash stack before, does the 24hr wait still apply with the smash service being offline now?

7. SifJar

Member SifJar Not a pirate

United Kingdom
    AHBPROT is disabled for apps loaded through HBC, yes. But note that vIOS have added protections, meaning stuff like patched IOS cannot be installed, even with AHBPROT (at least, not without additional IOS runtime patching). Also note that this is not a bad thing; there's a reason TT removed all apps that patch IOS from WiiBrew.

But yes, apps that use AHBPROT (but that don't use it to install permanently patched IOS) should work.

Riivolution has already been updated to work in a private build, it just hasn't been made public yet (probably undergoing testing etc. before public release). Note that tueidj, who provided the IOS exploit for the new HackMii Installer, is part of the team behind Riivolution, so it's quite possible it'll use the same exploit when updated. (Rather than wasting two holes).

As for WAD installers; well I don't really care too much about them. Maybe if there's one that uses AHBPROT it'd already work (although not for installing IOS or SM; vIOS block installation of those).