HBC doesn't recognize my usb...

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by baffle-boy, Dec 15, 2009.

Dec 15, 2009
  1. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    i reformatted my usb HDD to have a 140GB (or so) NTFS partition, then the rest of the 250GB HDD is Fat32. configurable USB loader recognizes the FAT partition and loads from it... but the HBC acts like nothing is there is select USB from the menu (it acts like the HDD is there, but it is empty...) i would like to stop using my SD card, but it doesn't seem to like my HDD. is this just incompatibility, or does the FAT32 partition have to be first? sorry if this is a stupid question, a search yielded no results.
     
  2. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    i think its incompatibility issues, i have a western digital my book fully formatted to fat32 and hbc doesnt see it.

    everything else does though.
     
  3. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah, i guess so. i don't even know what brand my HDD is anyways... so it's not like i can check. it seems WAD manager isnt seeing it either. but MplayerCE seems to only use the NTFS partition (probably a program bug)
     
  4. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    set the FAT partition as active or boot and see what happens.
     
  5. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    sorry, i was busy for a few days, but i tried setting the FAT partition as active, but nothing happened. the hbc acts like the hdd is there, just empty. should i try marking it as boot instead? or is it something to do with it being the second partition?
     
  6. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    may seem stupid but, you know you cant have an SD card in so HBC can use the HDD instead right?

    scratch that, only applies for 1.0.3 and below.
     
  7. Cruton

    Newcomer Cruton Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I have a 350GB western Digital HD that my Wii didn't recognize at first.
    I use the Wiiflow usb loader.
    I then read somewhere that the Configurable USB Loader recognized the most drives, so I put that on a SD card and it seemed to recognize my drive.
    Then when I was reconfiguring some settings, I forgot to put the SD card back in, so the HBC loaded the Wiiflow loader that I had on the external drive, and it all started working.

    Weird.
     
  8. hatredg0d

    Member hatredg0d GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    239
    Location:
    Minnesota
    Country:
    United States
    ya you can, if your on the newest homebrew channel and press "1", then select source for apps, hit ok.
     
  9. baffle-boy
    OP

    Member baffle-boy GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2009
    Messages:
    458
    Location:
    EVERYWHERE
    Country:
    Canada
    yeah im using the latest version of the HBC, i guess it just won't work [​IMG]
     

Share This Page