Hack a PSP Phat with 5.03

Discussion in 'PSP - Games & Content' started by SpaceJump, Jan 14, 2010.

Jan 14, 2010

Hack a PSP Phat with 5.03 by SpaceJump at 1:56 PM (1,955 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    I want to install CFW on a PSP Phat. It is on OFW 5.03. Can I use my Pandora+Magic Stick and install the CFW that way?
     
  2. shito

    Member shito GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2009
    Messages:
    365
    Country:
    Brazil
    i don't have a phat psp, but i think this might help you
     
  3. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    use chickhen to get 5.03 chickhen r2 then install 5.50 GEN-D3
     
  4. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Can't I just use my Pandora battery?
     
  5. Chris_Skylock

    Member Chris_Skylock GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,501
    Location:
    Philippines
    Country:
    Philippines
    why on earth are you asking if you can just use your pandora and memory stick?

    yes, you can use it but it would be better if chickhen is active.
     
  6. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    It's not my PSP and I just want to be sure.
     
  7. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Only way that PSP is getting bricked is if you turn the PSP off while flashing.
    If it does happen to brick, you got Pandora. So your fully safe.
     
  8. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    On 5.03 you can use the ChickHEN R2 method, but using a pandora battery would be fine too.
     
  9. nico445

    Member nico445 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2008
    Messages:
    579
    Location:
    my house.
    Country:
    Netherlands
    why even bother chickhen if you have a pandora? just install it with that. way easier because chickhen takes ages to load, and pandora starts instantly.
     
  10. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,481
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Each method has it's ups and downs; using a pandora battery is certainly simple (it's how I did mine, though I had no choice), though making the MMS is probably slightly more involved.
     
  11. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    ok, I installed CFW 3.71 M33-2 with the Pandora. Then I wanted to do the network update and it says it wants to update to 6.20. Shouldn't the network update take me to 5.00 M33-6?
     
  12. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    Don't update like that, download the update manually, and put it on your mem stick. And why 5.03 M33-6? Go to 5.50 GEN-D3
     
  13. SpaceJump
    OP

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Can I update directly from 3.71 M33 to GEN D-3?
     
  14. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nope. You need to be on firmware higher then 4.00
    Update to M33-6 then GEN D3
     
  15. ragingchaosgod

    Member ragingchaosgod JUBILEUS QAAL OVOF VOMSARG

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2008
    Messages:
    575
    Country:
    Philippines
    Not to hijack the thread but... can I upgrade from 5.03 Gen B to 5.50 Gen D3 if I'm on ChickHEN? And if I can't... how can I upgrade? Do I even need to upgrade?
     
  16. prowler

    Member prowler Sony

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    9,473
    Location:
    Ragol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No. Don't try that unless you want a brick you can't un-brick.
    GEN bought out GEN C. Its just the same as GEN D3 but for un-hackable motherboards
     

Share This Page