got bricked on 4.2 using preloader

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by fst312, Oct 11, 2009.

Oct 11, 2009
  1. fst312
    OP

    Member fst312 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    preloader can still load but i am unable to go into hbc.need help got bricked on friends wii.i had the hacks.ini setup for his 4.2 but it hust ended up bricking the wii.

    EDIT
    just found out he did not have bootmii is there still a way out of this brick.
     
  2. fst312
    OP

    Member fst312 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    whats that thing bushing made called for nands to work on other wiis maybe i can use that to save his wii.
     
  3. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    system menu corrupted is not a brick if thats what your thinking.

    if you can boot into preloader your not bricked.
     
  4. HellFireXS

    Newcomer HellFireXS Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Location:
    British Columbia
    Country:
    Canada
    Well if he doesn’t have bootmii then you can’t restore any kind Nand, as far as I know bootmii is the only way to do it.

    If you can tell us what he did to actually brick the thing, I may be able to help more.

    Does the system have HBC 1.0.5/6 and a non JODI patched Preloader? Is that why HBC won’t load?
     
  5. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    more than likely he installed the regular preloader .29
    and cant get into his system menu because of the menu corrupted message.
     
  6. fst312
    OP

    Member fst312 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    he has the latest hbc but preloader was not patched.as far as i can see thers is no way to fix the problem so he's buying a used wii from ebay hopefully it won't be on 4.2.

    i tried installing a boot.dol file since that is all i'm able to do with his preloader install files.at least i think there installing.i tried the hackmii file.the uused wii might be the only option its better than sending the nitendo wii to nintendo themselves isn't it.
     
  7. xzxero

    Member xzxero ♥bong milk does good for the brain♥

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,831
    Location:
    SB
    Country:
    United States
    you should be able to install the boot.dol in preloader to boot hbc.
    http://gbatemp.net/index.php?showtopic=182751

    or better yet, try using preloader to set the system menu to boot with IOS 249 in the settings.
    if it works then run HBC
     
  8. fst312
    OP

    Member fst312 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    482
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    thank you you are a life saver his wii is running again i'm going to make sure he gets bootmii on to an sd card.
    the wii system menu is back.
     

Share This Page