Going to get a modchip

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by jrsaysbiteme, Sep 26, 2008.

Sep 26, 2008

Going to get a modchip by jrsaysbiteme at 9:34 PM (1,495 Views / 0 Likes) 13 replies

  1. jrsaysbiteme
    OP

    Newcomer jrsaysbiteme Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Ok i said screw it, im going to get a modchip. What do i need from my wii to indicate which one i can get? Ive had my wii for a long time so. I know this question has been asked by tons of people, tons of times but now its my turn. Which mod chip should i get. Of course i want the best one as always. A friend of mien sent his wii away to get it down but im sure i can do it. Any information will certainly be gratefully appreciated.
     
  2. slimpyman

    Member slimpyman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2008
    Messages:
    121
    Location:
    Valparaiso, IN
    Country:
    United States
    if youhave a wii from when they fitrst came out, get a wiikey
     
  3. tedmg09130913

    Member tedmg09130913 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2007
    Messages:
    215
    Country:
    United States
    Whatever modchip you get you might be better getting it with a wiiclip. Then if you have to send back your wii for repairs, you can simply remove the wiiclip.
     
  4. Framework43

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Opening your wii is the only way to be 100% sure of which drive you have.
     
  5. trancegemini

    Newcomer trancegemini Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    I would get a wii-clip and install it yourself. It is much cheaper this way. You can order the wii-clip with any modchip you want soldered on. If you have a older model wii i would get a wiikey as it is cheaper for like 55 i got a wiikey solder on a wii-clip and triwing. Then all you will need is a 2mm philips screwdriver. It is not hard to install. It took me a hour my first time ( it should not take most this long i just took a long time to screw it back up ). I have big hands and am no good at all at this sort of thing and i did it. Make sure to find out what drive you have before you get a modchip. Check http://wiitracker.nintendo-scene.com/search.php to find out what drive you have it is true the only way to know 100% is to open your wii and check the drive. However depending on your drive that site can tell you what drive you have with very good accuracy.
     
  6. jrsaysbiteme
    OP

    Newcomer jrsaysbiteme Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    hows the D2Pro9 v3 w/D2E Support? and whats the difference with puting it on the wii with just the D2Pro9 v3 w/D2E Support and the D2Pro9 v3 w/D2E Support with the wiiclip?
     
  7. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Look at wiidrives.com if yo have a DMS/D2A or D2B with uncut pins you should definatly get a YAOSM. (if you don't want to solder a free-clip programmed with YAOSM)

    Edit: If you have your wii for a long time you won't need a chip that supports the D2E-drives. And if you really have one of the old D2A/DMS/D2B drives a D2Pro would be a total overkill.

    The difference between wii-clip and no wii-clip is, that you'll have to solder without one. [​IMG]
     
  8. trancegemini

    Newcomer trancegemini Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    53
    Country:
    United States
    The d2pro 9 will work good for you. Make sure to get this type though so you get the right version. Older chips required you to pick a firmware http://www.modchipcentral.com/store/D2Pro9...iant-p-135.html If you get it soldered on with the wiiclip you can install it yourself. The wiiclip just plugs into a chip on the drive. This way you can install it yourself. So if you want to install it yourself and save on money without needing to know how to solder that is the way to go.
     
  9. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I'd get the free-clip if they don't want to solder and have the older drives. Plus..they're back in stock at DX and are only $25.
     
  10. Framework43

    Member Framework43 I'm International

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2008
    Messages:
    304
    Country:
    United States
    Link please?
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
  12. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
  13. Zerxer

    Member Zerxer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    I am also highly considering getting a modchip after having a taste of backups with the backup loader. I was thinking about making a thread about which to get too but what's the point when I can easily jump into this thread?

    Okay so I entered my serial on that site and it says:
    Your Drive Chip is most likely GC2-D2C.
    Your Drive Pins are most likely not cut.

    Assuming that is correct (I'll probably open it up later just to make sure), would I be able to install a WiiKey on a clip? I'm assuming that WiiKey is the best to get if you're able to and that it plays every game out there so far flawlessly? Oh and when you're running a modchip, do you have to downgrade your Wii's system version or whatever it is from 3.3 to 3.2? Not sure if you still have to use the trucha bug on discs you run when using a modchip and whether or not the trucha bug still requires 3.2.

    EDIT: wiidrives.com says "There is a 100% chance the chipset is GC2-D2C (v1)."; is that completely trustable then?

    Okay so I just learned that the WiiKey is not compatible with D2C. What is recommended then? D2Pro9?
     
  14. Zerxer

    Member Zerxer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this thread is slowly being pushed back pages. Can anyone tell me what's different between the D2Lite and the D2Pro9? It's cheaper for one so what does that mean? As long as it can still boot Wii/GC backups perfectly..
     

Share This Page